1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Figuring Out Memory Sticks

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by FZWG, Mar 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Appreciate some assistance.

    72pin SiMMs normally have black rectangular blocks held on to the stick with what look like "feet". It appears that 8MB sticks have 4 sets of 5 "feet", 10 on each side of the block.
    The 16MB sticks appear to have 4 sets of 6 "feet", 12 on each side of the block.

    Is this a basic rule of thumb to "eyeball" memory and know what it is (in quantity) without installing it on a mainboard?

    Thanks in advance for your reply.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi FZWG - I don't have an answer but am curious as well, as I've been told in the computer stores, we gotta put it on a machine.....don't know what machine....but back to the top for the smarter persons!
     
  3. dfernie

    dfernie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 1999
    Messages:
    6
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    I will also add my 2 cents worth . . .

    I have been told that their is no rule for determining how much memory a chip has, until it is placed in a computer, or a memory tester. I have seen identical chips, and one was 32 MB and the other 128! Codes, serial numbers, number of black chips, all are immaterial when trying to determine the memory. If a company is nice, they have a label on the chip stating it is such and such, but that will have to be taken with a grain of salt untill you place it in a computer, because it could have been mislabelled.

    Best of Luck
     
  5. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for all the info.

    Guess the bottom line is to place the memory on a mainboard, and let it POST to see how much memory you have on the sticks. Thought maybe there was a quick and easy way.

    Have a good week y'all.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/40833

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice