File folder properties won't display

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nigelum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
84
I recently upgraded my SpywareBlaster software from 2.0 to 3.0 and now I can’t access menu options on any file folder on my Windows XP Pro. I know that it added, or changed or added a registry key, but I don’t know where to go in the registry to look for the problem. I know that the file folder is a “class”, but I don’t know the extension. If I highlight any file along with a file folder, I will get a drop-down menu, and can use my choices in the “File” menu in Windows explorer. This problem happened after I installed the software…I did not do a spyware check and I realize that some spyware software will think that the registry key is spyware, but this is not the case, since the problem only occurred after I installed the software. I have Norton Systemworks and several registry cleanup/repair utilities and I’ve tried them all, with no success. I’ve run a system file check and system restore (before the software install), but with no success. I am spyware free and virus free. I have tried to do an “upgrade” on a Windows XP install, but no success. I know that the next possible solution would be to do a clean install, but I would like to try and avoid that, if at all possible. It’s more a matter of incontinence, since my OS and other programs work perfectly and the startup/shutdown doesn’t yield any stop errors. :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
I'm a little unclear about what you lost. Do you mean nothing happens when you click File on the menu bar in an open folder?
 

Nigelum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
84
Sorry about that...If I right-click on a folder, nothing happens and I have to end the process in the task manager (I get a "Not Responding" message), and the same is true if I highlight a folder and click on "File" in the menu.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Maybe I'm just dense :D

That hanging is probably not due to any registry change. Policy enforcement would only give you no result or a dialog box explaining the policy. But check them, anyway.

Go to Start > Run, and type:
gpedit.msc
OK

Find:
User Config > Admin Templates > Windows Components > Windows Explorer. Look down the column on the right. By default, all these items are Not Configured. If any have been changed (and you don't want them that way), double-click them and change them back to unconfigured.

You may need to reboot for any changes to be applied.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What process in TM do you need to end when you get the hang? Explorer or something else?

Have you uninstalled SpywareBlaster?

Just for another perspective on malware, try downloading, installing, updating with the most recent definitions, and running AdAware:

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/adaware.html
 

Nigelum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
84
I did the uninstall thing first off...the folder problem was still there. I ran updates on Spyblaster Search and Destroy and Ad-aware 6.0 and did a scan...still the same problem.

Have I comfoulded you yet.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Pretty confounded, I must admit. But maybe there is something in that context menu that doesn't belong there or was deleted and left an entry behind.

So, try ContextEdit. Scroll down until you see "Folder" and "File Folder" and look to see if there are any entries in the menu that you don't want/need/have any more. Possibly turning them all off temporarily and returning them one by one would narrow it down.

ftp://ftp.sac.sk/pub/sac/utilfile/cnxtedit.zip

Another thing that can greatly slow down the menu is too many entries in the Send To menu.

Look in the Documents and Settings\<username>\SendTo folder and delete anyhting there you don't want/need/have any more.
 

Nigelum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
84
Sorry guys, none of the suggestions worked, but I have bookmarked the site...thanks "rude", and I"ll have another tool to use...thanks "Elvandil". I'm wondering if explorer.exe could be corrupted in some way. The shell hasen't changed at all when I try to bring up the drop-down menu on my folders. In some instances I"ll have to quit explorer.exe to unlock the process. Like I wrote before, the problem is system wide...that is, it dosen't matter if I log on to another account, the problem still persists.

I thank you all for you help. Maybe this can be a small project for the tech people that are much smarter than I. I've tried all my tricks.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Click start/run

Type: SFC /scannow

Note the space between SFC and /

keep your xp cd handy in case you're asked to chuck it into your cd rom
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top