1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

File is corrupted and unreadable.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Roofer79, Feb 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    It doesn't say /f. I'm assuming it's just chkdsk.
     
  2. voodo

    voodo

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    ok did you type in chkdsk /f then reboot?
     
  3. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    I will when this gets done.
     
  4. voodo

    voodo

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    ok no worries.. it may find some errors and ask if you wish to fix them..
     
  5. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    I'm thinking it is an /f chkdsk. I ran it through the C: disk drive, properties, then tools and error-checking.
     
  6. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    It's only 50 percent complete on stage 5 of 5 right now.
     
  7. voodo

    voodo

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    ok yeah that sounds about right they can take forever...
     
  8. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Ok it's booted back up, should I run the sfc /scannow?
     
  9. voodo

    voodo

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    yeah go ahead and run it- did it boot ok and did it find any errors?
     
  10. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    I just walked in here and it was booted up to my desktop.
     
  11. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    How will I know if it found any errors?
     
  12. voodo

    voodo

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    ok cool it would have said at the bottom of the chkdsk screen, and it times out then boots to windows- no worries the sfc will take some time as well
     
  13. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Tried to run sfc /scannow and it says files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL Cache.
    Insert your windows XP Professional CD-ROM now.......which I don't have.
     
  14. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    I really need to get one of those.
     
  15. Roofer79

    Roofer79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Do I need the CD before going further?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/983342