File recovery programs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

whitelightnin

Ok, first off, Im sorry if this is posted in the wrong place.

I have a need to get, or I should say try to get, some pictures off of a computer that I used to use. The computer has still been being used, just not by me, by one of my friends. About 4 yrs ago, I had some pics on it that I need now for a court hearing that they could be used as evidence in.

Im almost positive they were deleted. But, I do know of software that is made for retrieving things like this. I have tried out Recuva,(not on that computer yet where the pics were), and i know that it works. Im just not an expert on deleted file recovery and was wondering if anyone in here might know if that program is the best to try with, or if there are better ones to try to use. Seeing as how its free, im assuming its not the best, but I thought i would ask and see. And if this has already been posted somewhere else, by all means shoot me the link and i will read up on it.

One last thing, it has been so long ago since I was looking at these pics, I cannot remember if I actually uploaded them to this computer, or if I simply viewed them on line, on my sprint.com account. Would this matter? Im about 95 percent positive that they were viewed, in some way, on the computer in question though.

Thanks for any help!

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Deleted files can be recovered .. But NOT if the Hard Drive space they were in has been written over.
Here's some Freeware suggestions

If they were viewed online, they may still be in a browser cache, or were deleted from a cache, so they may still be on the drive. At least some of them. Images have the advantage that they can sometimes still be used even if the recovered file is corrupted, with some parts of the image missing.