1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

File sharing between networks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wwbrick, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wwbrick

wwbrick Thread Starter

I'm fairly new to setting up networks. I posted a similar question not too long ago but found no answers so I thought I'd try again with some better questions. I have two routers. R1 and R2. The first is connected to the internet (WAN) and grants wireless internet access to remote computers on it's LAN. An ethernet cable runs from an R1 LAN port to R2's WAN port. The second router then allows wired internet access to a main workstation. It was set up this way (with the one workstation on it's own separate network) for added security.
    I need to allow one of the remote computers to file share with the main computer. Obviously, with the two computers on different networks, this poses a problem. The main computer can share downstream but the remote computer can't initiate a file share upstream to that main computer.
    The options I have, at least as far as my searches have led me, are:
    1) Simple port forwarding. I can forward a port from the first router to the external IP (WAN) of the second router, then from the second router to the IP address of the main computer. I've read that there a few reasons this setup trips up sometimes, but assuming I could resolve those my next question would be whether or not opening up a pathway straight to the main computer, through the second router's hardware firewall, negates the security advantage of having that computer on it's own network.