1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

File sharing trouble...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by freakotaku14, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    OK, I have a Wireless network with 4 computers on it. They are all in the same work group and all can see that one another in on the work group. My problem is that everu time i try to access another i get this Error Message:
    [​IMG]
    granted, i added that last part because im not on the same computer right now and couldnt get the exact error message. but thats still what it said.
    What do i do? i just want to get the four computers to share files...
     
  2. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    well you never added the error but its most likely that either file and print sharing arent enabled on one or more of your computers or you need to choose to share the desired folders.
     
  3. reezin14

    reezin14

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    I would double check this just to make sure.
     
  4. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    that means what....
    and all of the compys are setup for file sharing.
     
  5. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    well it may be my browsre but im not seeing the error message you posted. its just a blank line. im using the latest version of firefox.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I have no idea what you were trying to do, but whatever image you attempted to post didn't make it. Here's the instructions for posting images here.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  7. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I know...i can view the image...i wonder why no one else can...ill attempt to edit and fix it
    or not. i cant edit that far back. ill just edit this post with a hopefully fixed version.
     
  8. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    OK, uploaded
     

    Attached Files:

  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Looks like a firewall issue to me.

    Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt for the following commands.

    PING each remote computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. Open a command prompt as described above and type.

    PING <ip address>
    or
    PING <computer name>

    Where:
    <ip address> - is the x.x.x.x IP address
    <computer name> - is the computer name

    A failure to PING is almost always a firewall configuration issue. Any failure to PING needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

    Note: You can obtain the IP address and computer name of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG /ALL. This should work for any Windows version. The IPCONFIG /ALL display will provide a wealth of useful information for debugging your network connection.

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic.

    All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

    If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

    While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
     
  10. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    OK, ill be sure to try. And one thing...

    what does this mean? ive ran into other places that say that in my quest to fix this, but i dont understand it...because this part:
    is exactly whats wrong...
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Create an user account on the machine with the shared resource that has the same name/password as is used to login to the client (connecting) machine.
     
  12. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    you mean...just like a windows user account?
    and if it doesnt have a password, then just have to password right?
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Yes, create an account that matches the connecting machine's account. Also, give the connecting machine a password if it doesn't have one.

    If you don't want to type the password each time to login to the machines, you can do this.

    Start, Run, control userpasswords2

    This utility will allow you to configure auto-login for the machine.
     
  14. freakotaku14

    freakotaku14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    awesome, thanks, ill be sure to come back if i have anymore problems
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - File sharing trouble
  1. corolla2
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    694
  2. SSTWKX
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    387
  3. Optiker
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,689
  4. Suzleb
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    409
  5. AKmath
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,854
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/646130

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice