1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Files still exist but cannot be found...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by elementcircle, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. elementcircle

elementcircle Thread Starter

Hello. This is my first time here and I'm pretty desparate. I recently (about 2 days ago) did a non-destructive recovery on my laptop. I have an HP Pavillion Entertainment Notebook and run Windows XP Home. The tech rep assured me that my files and programs would remain intact and that the recovery would only replace the OS and system files. Well they were half right. A few of my programs seem to be MIA and/or there are missing .dll or other files so they won't run, or they programs appear to still be intact but when I try to run them, I get an error message saying "This action is only valid for products that are currently installed."

Also, my personal files (documents, music, video, etc.) seem to be missing.

HOWEVER...I have been all over my computer and the hard drive shows that it still has 32.3 GB of used space!!! This means that my files still exist somewhere, I'm sure of it. The only thing is, I run searches for them and they don't show up. Also, there is a folder located in my My Documents folder that I cannot access AT ALL. I cannot move it, I can not copy it, I can not open, explore, etc. The name of the folder is the same name of my old My Documents folder.

Could somebody PLEASE help me get my files back! I have about 3 years of research in those files and I really don't want to have to go about getting them back the hard way. And I don't want to put any more files on my computer since it is showing that the hard drive is still "full" (only about 2/3 of it though). Help!!!

Thanks in advance

Barret

2. guitar