1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fill form on external web site VB.Net 2003

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by iamaran, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iamaran

iamaran Thread Starter

First of all, I'm a beginner in VB.Net 2003.

What I want to do is fill in the fields of an external website with data from a local database. A bit like Roboform or the "autofill" in Google toolbar, but linked to a database.

I have written the search and record retrieval part so upon entering a reference number, the relevent details come up. I now need to get these details into the relevent fields on the external website.

This is a completely external website, over which I have no control but I do need to fill in the form over 100 times a week.

Could anyone point me in the right direction here?
    Many thanks.

2. Chicon

Chicon

Hi iamaran,

It may be a good idea to develop an engine able to fill forms on remote websites but I guess there's no website manager who will tolerate it, knowing that such engine could be used to choke a website.
    ;)

3. iamaran

iamaran Thread Starter

Hi Chicon. Yes, I guess so.
    But I cannot be typing in record after record manually when the data already exists in my database! I have made the connection to the db and the data is displayed in text boxes on the form. I now need to pass these values to the external web page. But how? Thanks.

4. Chicon

Chicon

I will make the things clear.
    You must understand that we can't provide you with a help which is on the verge of illegality.
    We don't want to learn that a website has been brought down because someone with bad intentions has gotten precious informations from this forum.