1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Final Fantasy 8 (PC) Failed To Load Custom Driver

Discussion in 'Games' started by FFFreak, Aug 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Hello all.

    After getting my FF7 set from a friend a couple weeks ago, nostalgia kicked in and I got his FF8 copy also but I'm having problems with it. I also have no problem playing FF7.

    Installing it goes along with no problems till the end, where it says "Failed to load custom driver" and it goes to desktop. I try to start the game and same thing. I got the 1.2 patch but am unable to install EAX because again it says failed to load custom driver. What is going on?

    Windows XP Home Edition
    Pentium 4 2.2 Gz
    256 RAM
    Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
     
  2. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Anyone? :\
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Do you have any imaging progams like Daemon Tools?
     
  4. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Yes, I've already ripped ISO's from my discs and using DT Lite to mount them to see if that would work but nope ):
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Then we can't help with authorized copies of the game
     
  6. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    O...k. So, let's get help with the authorized discs I bought from him. Don't know why you asked me that question and then say you can't help me when I even stated I have the discs.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Daemon Tools can interfere with loading games. I was going to get you to uninstall it to see if that helps. Also I think that issue is due to the video card/drivers and I don't think your video card can support it.
     
  8. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Could you explain what the EAX Unified tool is and why it also says Failed to load custom driver?
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Only thing I can see that is related is the creative sound card. You may need to reinstall that. (drivers)
     
  10. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Ah, I see. Because it doesn't come with the discs but with the 1.2 patch but I'll try it out. Thanks.
     
  11. FFFreak

    FFFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Didn't seem to work. I'll be getting a new computer in the next few weeks so hopefully I'll be able to play it then. Thanks for the help anyway.
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    honestly... i would get a ps1 or even ps2 and get the game with that. :) you will have less issues.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1015087