1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Finally a fix for firefox on windows ten

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by freebeans, Sep 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. freebeans

    freebeans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Few months back I bought a new computer. At that time i installed windows 8 64 bit which i had a license for and upgraded to windows 10 64bit. Wish I could have just upgraded from windows 8 32 bit to 64 but that was not possible. I then reloaded some of my old apps. I also installed firefox which came in a beta version for 64bit. Nothing but problems, constantly freezing up. Getting non responsive errors. Two days ago i downloaded version 48 and wow what a difference. Working like a champ now. Hope i havent jinxed myself. Just wanted to share this. Never got a notice from firefox about the newer version.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,471
    First Name:
    Frank
    Instead of using a beta version of Mozilla Firefox, you should always use a stable version.
    The most current stable version is 48.0.2
    I use it in Windows XP and Windows 7 and Windows 10.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. freebeans

    freebeans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    You are right . At the time 47 was the only 64bit version available.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,471
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've been using a 64-bit version of Windows 7 for years and have been able to continually update Mozilla Firefox.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You do not need to use a 64-bit version of Firefox on a 64-bit version of Windows, it's generally highly recommended to stay with the 32-bit version for best stability and compatibility. 64-bit Firefox also doesn't support most add-ons.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1178197

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice