1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Find a Command-Line Switch?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jpboyrox, Feb 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Do you know any way to find the command-line switches of a program. For example, I noticed that the Avira command on start up is "C:\Programs\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avgnt.exe" /min". I want to find out if it is possible to find out the command at the end (in this case "/min")
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Most utilities you can just type /? at the end of the command and it will list all the switches that are available. Otherwise I am sure they would be listed on the vendors website or help file.
     
  3. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Where should I type this? In CMD? Would it by along the lines of "C:\Programs\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avgnt.exe" /?"
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
  5. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Yes, obviously I understand that /min means minimised. I want to find other commands like /min for example "open" or "add" which seem to be different for every program. One of the things I want to do is add a link to videos in the context menu that says "Convert with AVC" so that when I click on that it will add the video to the 'convert' list in AVC. To do this I need to find out what the command-line switches are for AVC. This is NOT just for AVC so please don't post a link to their website. I want learn how to find out the command-line switches for any given program. I think that Squashman got the idea but I'm not quite sure what he meant with his reply
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Not all programs have alternate startup parameters or switches.
    The only real way to find out is to read the help file for the program or check the programs support site.

    The first I usually do is execute the program with a forward slash and question mark. That is pretty much the standard for most programs that take cmd line parameters.

    Open up a cmd prompt.
    ipconfig /?
    ping /?
    dir /?
    etc, etc, etc.....

    Some programs don't show their optional parameters for starting up using the /?. Windows Explorer is one of them but they are well documented on the web.

    About the best anybody here can do is Google Search for you and I think you can do that on your own. There is no defacto standard for optional startup parameters.
     
  7. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    so for example, I should type "avgnt.exe /?" ? Should I navigate to "C:\Programs\Avira\AntiVir Desktop" first?
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Yes, you'd have to navigate to the folder first.
     
  9. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    avgnt.exe /? and avgnt.exe -? don't display any help, and the Avira site doesn't have them listed. There used to be info in the Avira forums, the the links all seem to be broken now. They have a Command Line tool that should be documented, but for the main program it's a matter of browsing and searching through the forum.

    A google search often finds the info, these are what I try, for example for explorer.exe:
    explorer.exe "command line" switch OR reference OR parameter
    or
    explorer.exe batch usage

    HTH

    Jerry
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/900559