1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Find & Replace (but Replace in a different Column)

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by mark4man, May 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mark4man

    mark4man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    222
    Hello...

    [I need to know if there is a function...perhaps a Macro or Query...or a more complex 'Find & Replace'...that can accomplish the following...'cause my database is huge; & I'm hoping not to do this manually]:

    I keep an Access database for my homeowners' association on the condition & conformity of 24 different exterior attributes, for about 2400 townhomes. The Board of Directors wants to move away from using the term "Grandfathered", which is distinguished by the acronym "GF" in the database column that shows conformity (labeled IAW). We use this database to generate annual architectural reports for our 10,000 residents.

    Our board wants the entry "GF" replaced with a "Y"...they want the GF entry removed from the report completely; & they're serious about it.

    Now...I have already created a Query that has located all the GF entries in their various columns of various records...which our Board wants me to use in an internal "in-office" database (in order to keep track of what attributes actually were grandfathered originally...as a reference for our field inspector when he inspects the townhomes).

    But we also want to create an unassuming symbol on the report...perhaps an ~ or a *...something that will alert the inspector to an attribute that once was grandfathered, on his field report. [This is to be done so that he will not
    be flying blind when he comes across a non-conforming attribute...i.e., he will see the symbol & know that that symbol means there used to be a "GF" in it's place.]

    BUT...we want to move that symbol to a different column...(a column labeled "Comments").

    I could run the 'Find & Replace' function...find all the GF's...& replace them with a Y~...but that ~ symbol would go right back in the very same column that the GF came out of.

    So...is there a way to find all the GF's in one column; & replace them w/ a Y in that same column...but have a symbol "~" appear in another column of the same record?

    I know it sounds complicated...but can it be done?

    Thanks,


    mark4man
    Access 2000
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    see attached. But actually getting that data back to the table, if that is what you want, is a bit trickier.
     

    Attached Files:

    • db1.zip
      File size:
      8 KB
      Views:
      15
  3. mark4man

    mark4man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks, Slurpee55...

    Will check it out when I get back to work Monday (do not have Access at home...this is strictly a work thing...plan to really enjoy myself this weekend !!!)

    Thanks again,

    MF
     
  4. mark4man

    mark4man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    222
    OK...

    Used the Update Query function, which worked like a charm...except for one little thing...in the column that got the "~"...everything else that exists in that column was deleted.

    I., e., those columns where the "~" will reside (after the update query) is a column labeled Comments. Every database attribute (which are the exterior architectural features for each property we keep track of) has one of these "Comments" columns, which also contains other critical info on the property.

    So now...here's where I am: In my conformity column, the GF gets changed to a "Y"...(so far, so good). But then when the Comments column gets updated to my "~", everything else goes by the waysideÂ…all I'm left with is that that character.

    What I'm hoping for...is that the update could place that character at the end of all the other info. Any way to implement this?

    Thanks,


    mark4man
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/709333

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice