Find spammer with dynamic ip address

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WARnux

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
78
This guy keeps using an online form of mine to send me spam mail. Today he sent me about 6 already. I get his ip address every time but it always changes.

My question is: I know these ip addresses are being leased out by a company like comcast or some dialup provider. Is there any easy way to find out what company leases an address on a certain date and time?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Even if you find the company, you're going to need a warrant to get the guy's name. You won't find who's doing it without getting the authorities involved.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
1
How did you manage to get the IP address of that spammer? Can we get the IP add of a person who spams in blogs like our chatboxes? Could you pls teach me? Many thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
If the OP has an online form, I presume he is running the server so he should have access to the logs.
 

WARnux

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
78
In the logs you should see everything you need, but I always include the senders ip address when they post data with:
$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
That's only going to tell you who the ISP is and wihtout a court order the ISP is not going to give out anything else.
 

WARnux

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
78
That gives their ip and you can get their host name according to the isp with that address.

I'm thinking that an isp will assign host names to customers that don't change very often, but I'm just guessing how they work in that regard.

When you said that, you made it sound like the address it gives goes to some ISP building when it actually goes directly to the spammers location. Unless they're spamming with a trojan installed on someone else's computer, which is a possibility.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top