1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Finding IE on 98 CD-ROM

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Sparkie25, Dec 25, 2001.

Mark Solved
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sparkie25

    Sparkie25 Guest Thread Starter

    I recently purchased a new (blank) hard drive. However, when I was installing Windows 98 (not SE version) from CD-ROM, I noticed that I no longer had the Internet Explorer (IE) support browser. From what I understand, my old hard drive had IE already installed on it when I purchased the computer. I have ABSOLUTELY no web browsing capabilities, so downloading it from a website is NOT an option.

    Many tell me it's on the CD-ROM, but so far I am unable to locate the application. My questions are; Where is IE located on my CD-ROM? What steps do I follow to locate it? If it is accessible, how do I add that particular software without re-installing the complete version of Windows 98? What steps do I follow for adding the specific application?

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    Happy Holidays!
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Sparkie,

    Why not try downloading a recent version of Internet Explorer on the machine your using now, if you have that possibility?

    You could download the whole thing at the <A HREF="http://corporate.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp">Windows Update Corporate Site</A>

    Good luck,
     
  3. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    I've installed W98 quite a few times to blank harddrives and IE is always installed by default as part of the Windows install. Do this and see if you find anything

    Start>Find>Files, key in iexplore.exe and press enter. Is it found? If so, double left click on it.
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,546
    If the above doesn't work, go to start, settings, control panel,
    add remove programs. Look for Internet Explorer, if it is there double click and you will be asked if you want to repair, yes, then prompted to insert win 98 disk.

    Let us know what's up, I'm going to check out a couple of other options, check back later.
     
  5. Sparkie25

    Sparkie25 Guest Thread Starter

    Thank you for the quick replies.

    This is where I am; I inserted the Windows 98 Cd-ROM, then by using Start>Find>Files>, I located the ieplore.exe file. Woohoo! Just to ease my paranoia, I want to run the basic process by some 'experts'. I will double-click this iexplore.exe, then the cd-rom will automatically download IE onto my c-drive (once I indicate it to do so)? Then, the IE Setup will initialize the installation process?

    Another concern of mine is; I already have AOL (America Online) installed and accessible through a working screen name. During the IE Setup, will Windows automatically intergrade AOL into a workable browser? Or, will I need to run Connection Wizard, so it can configure AOL to recognize IE as its support browser? To avoid such a hassle, should I uninstall AOL before I execute the IE setup process? Then, once I have the IE browser up and running, update (like Tony suggested), and after that, re-install AOL?

    Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    Happy Holidays!
    Sparkie
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Sparkie, this is not wat Bryan meant, if you read his post closely.

    He's right, if you install Win98 IE is part of the deal.

    Search your drive for Iexplore.exe, not your CD-ROM.

    You can't install IE by doubleclicking Iexplore.exe on your Windows CD-ROM.

    Good luck,
     
  7. ratchet

    ratchet

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,546
    It is apperent that you are online, there for you IE is intact if you are using AOL. AOL and most other ISP's piggy back their browsers on IE. If go windows explorer and follow the line down from my computer you should see IE.
    If it ain't broke don't fix it, if it is DON'T USE AOL TECH SUPPORT!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. Sparkie25

    Sparkie25 Guest Thread Starter

    Sorry, I read it incorrectly. :(

    I did Start>Find>Files search for iexplore.exe under my C and D drives. It is not located on either. Wait! That's not true. There is a IE file under the Windows Help. Very ironic. ::rolls eyes::

    Obviously, I have IE on the Windows 98 CD-ROM, but for some reason it is not downloading or installing onto my hard drive. I know this is a far-out stretch, but... My old hard drive had it automatically installed, it is now somehow 'turned off' from being included with my OS installation?

    I must say, I really appreciate the patience of all you above on this basic issue. I'm sure, right now I must seem like a goof, but I really am familiar with computer software and operations. My only defense; the last time I dealt with my OS Cd, was actually in 1998. Maybe, to avoid such hassles, I should just purchase a higher OS. ;)

    Sparkie
     
  9. Sparkie25

    Sparkie25 Guest Thread Starter

    Don't worry Ratchet! I would never call AOL. ;)

    My AOL is completely useless, because it doesn't have a support browser. It's basically a large IM client. I have no web browsing capabilities within the AOL either.

    As I stated above, IE is nowhere on either hard drive. From my misunderstanding earlier, I was able to locate IE on my Windows 98 Cd-ROM. Which, I wasn't able to do before. So, uhh thanks. :)

    Now, for some reason, the Cd-ROM is not downloading/installing the IE software application onto my hard drive. It seems to be 'turned off' from being accessed. Any ideas as to why this would happen? Or, how to 'turn it on' again?

    Happy Holidays!
    Sparkie
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62898

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice