1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firefox Autocomplete

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by Dr Dave, Feb 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dr Dave

Dr Dave Thread Starter

To turn on inline autocomplete in the Firefox web browser...

1. Enter about:config in the URL field
    2. Right-click on the page and create a new Boolean value
    3. Enter browser.urlbar.autoFill as the preference name (note, case-sensitive: 'F', not 'f')
    4. Set the value to true

2. bkpeck

bkpeck

I'm a beginner. What will this do??

3. Dr Dave

Dr Dave Thread Starter

Go on the internet and use Google as your search engine, type in Autocomplete
    and then you will know what the Autocomplete function is. Just about any and everything can be learned the same way.

4. Sooky 47

Sooky 47 Gone and dearly missed

bkpeck ...... I found this one also. Hope it sheds some light too! Hope this info helps!

5. bkpeck

bkpeck

Thank you Sooky!!

6. khalil1974

khalil1974

Thanks mate, nice post you have there (y)

7. mach9

mach9

Again Dr. Dave, very helpful FF tips. Much appreciated. (y)

8. jparr111

jparr111

(y) Another good tip...Thanks (y)

9. Dean Mechler

Dean Mechler

After entering the New> Boolean Name the next field asks for a "string value" not a "boolean value". After typing in "true" I have a String entry instead of a Boolean entry. What am I doing wrong?

Seems to me that this could be done alot easier than this. Who would have discovered "about:config" unless you search for it? This should be in the setup somewhere. My opinion anyway.

Thanks for any help!

10. Aderon

Aderon Account Closed