1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firefox browser Java

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sidbub, Nov 4, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    Does anyone know how to be able to use Java in FF V70.0.1?
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
  3. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    That sucks. So know I have to open either Edge or Chrome I suppose. Rather inconvenient.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    If anything, Internet Explorer. Google's Chrome version 45 and above does not support it. Microsoft Edge does not officially support it either.

    Only IE that i know of supports it.
     
  5. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    I was able to use Java when I opened Edge just to check. I didn't know Chrome did not support it. I don't know if I have IE.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    it's not known that IE is still in Windows 10 (I assume that is what you have). You can type in Internet Explorer in the search bar or Start > Windows Accessories.
     
  7. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    Not there. I guess its Edge if I need it.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    hmm. You may need to enable it then :) That is in Windows Features in Add/Remove Programs

    Anyways. Glad I could help.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,109
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Internet Explorer 11 browser is built into Windows 10.
    It's what I use instead of its built-in Microsoft Edge browser.
    IE11 does support the use of Java.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    Not in my Win 10.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,109
    First Name:
    Frank
    Look in Windows Accessories in the Start menu

    - or -

    Type in iexplorer.exe in the search box

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    Not in accessories and no local iexplorer.exe on local machine; only on web.
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    Go to Start > Settings > Apps > Manage additional Features, click on Install for Internet Explorer.

    -- or --

    Go to Control Panel > Programs and Features > Add or Remove Features check the Internet Explorer 11 option.
     
  14. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,139
    First Name:
    David
    Just click the Start and then type an "I"(without quotes) and it should be at the top of the list.
    It is part of the Windows 10 OS at this time.
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    It was part of mine... now it's not... and not even in the features list... I really did a number on my computer lol but that's another issue. Not sure if MS is taking it out now. XPS Viewer is not available either apparently.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235227

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice