1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Firefox browser went south

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by rpiz, Nov 16, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    I have been using Firefox for years, and after the last update it would not open. I removed all traces of Firefox and then downloaded the Firefox file again. Following the attempted install and run I receive the same message, 'Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.' I tried everything that I can think that may help resolve this issue; but I will need some help. Thanks and I will look for all return responses.
    rpiz
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,778
    Go to the C drive, right click choose Properties > Tools tab. Then click the Check now button. This starts a disk check.
     
  3. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    LinarLander Thanks for the reply! I followed your suggestion and there were not reports of problems or errors.
    What they could be the problem and what might be the solution???
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,778
    The latest version has a problem with one particular about:config setting. The exact setting name eludes me now. But if you have changed settings in about:config, then that might be the reason - firefox will crash.. If so, rename pref.js to something else and maybe firefox will put in a default one again. If after renaming it, firefox does not put a default one back, keep it renamed and re-install firefox.
     
  5. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    LunarLander, Again thanks for the additional reply. I regard to your suggestion, I cannot access 'about:config' settings at all.
    The message that I posted in my initial post is all I can accomplish when I double click on the firefox icon. Therefore I cannot
    access 'about:config'? It is strange that after completely uninstalling Firefox and re-installing the program that it wouldn't
    return to the default????
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,778
    The about:Config settings is stored the file "pref.js" which is in \users\you\appdata\roaming\mozilla\firefox\profiles\xxxx-default-xxxx
    Rename that pref.js file to something else. And then let firefox re-create that file.\\

    Note: you have to turn on View Hidden Files in File Explorer's View > Options > 'Change Folder and Search Options' > View tab to be able to see the AppData folder.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  7. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Well I followed your instructions to the letter, uninstalled Firefox, to include using Revco Uninstall program to pick up any
    lose ends. Then I renamed 'pref.js' file and followed with the install of Firefox again. Unfortunately after my attempt to
    start Firefox I received the same error message that I sited in my initial note. This is painful and I wonder what is blocking
    this program?? Thanks for the help.
     
  8. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Hi! Anyone have any additional ideas that would allow me to get Firefox installed and running again?????? Thanks.
     
  9. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    I still haven't found a solution? There must be a reason that I cannot access the file and also a way to regain permission
    for the Firefox program?
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,898
    First Name:
    Liz
  11. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    plodr, Thanks I did as you suggested and the portable version is installed and works. Although I would prefer the regular version as I had for years.
    Also I am without the extensions, etc. in this portable version. This is so strange that Firefox hasn't received many other claims that they are having
    problems with the latest version??? Thanks again for the help!
     
  12. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,898
    First Name:
    Liz
    I have heard of any problems with the latest version. Probably it is something on your computer.

    You can add extensions in a portable versions. You can also copy bookmarks.
     
  13. rpiz

    rpiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Hi! I am back! I reinstalled Firefox (not portable) and it is now working great. I problem ended up being that Acronis
    blocked Firefox. Once I found that this was the issue I unblocked Firefox in Acronis and we are good to go. Thanks.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235782

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice