1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firefox crashes on startup

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by L22, Mar 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Hi

    Error message: The application has a problem and crashed. Unfortunately the crash reporter is unable to submit a report for this crash. Details: The application did not identify itself

    I tried a clean re-install and it worked for a day or two and then crashed again.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 1948 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 750 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 857041 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7H55-M
    Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2015, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. joe957

    joe957

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    320
    Try disabling all extensions (if any) and see what happens. That could be one cause of your problem.
     
  3. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    How do you disable extensions without being able to open Firefox?
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
  5. vembutech

    vembutech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    168
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,592
    First Name:
    Liz
    In the run box, type the following
    Code:
    firefox.exe -safe-mode
    You will get a popup box showing that you can run in safe mode (that means no addons) or another button gives you the option to Reset Firefox. Try safemode first and if it doesn't crash. Start enabling your addons two at a time until it crashes. Then you know one of those two is causing the proble.
     
  7. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    I tried the run box command and it showed the same error message "the application has a problem..." and it didn't start.
     
  8. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Weird. It's working today.
     
  9. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Did you restart or shut down and restart the computer?

    If so some times a buggy thing can just go away and your never know what happen.
     
  10. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Yeah. I did. But it has happened before. I'm considering switching to chrome even though firefox is my preferred browser.
     
  11. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Oh wait. An appearance customization was deleted. Maybe that was the problem...
     
  12. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Some thing or a file in the profile folder that is made when changes are done that do things when you restart Firefox can screw up.

    Years ago I can something and forget just what but after looking in profile I deleted the one file and all was okay after that. So you may have had something like that.
     
  13. L22

    L22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    The problems back again lol...sigh. @hewee - Wish you could remember. :(
     
  14. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Go to help and click Troubleshooting Information.
    Then click Show Folder by Profile Folder.
    Sort by date modified.
    Take a screen shot of the folder.

    Then post it here.
     
  15. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Comodo ice dragon is a clone of firefox, uses firefox extensions with a lot less trouble.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144918

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice