1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

firefox

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by lilaco, May 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    using windows 10 and ie 11
    firefox says my connection is not secure....................first time this has ever happened
    how do i secure???


    HELP!!!!


    herb
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
  3. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    thanks for the quick reply
    trusted sites such as ebay, scotia bank., drudger report, etc. get the connection is not secure
    if they're not secure........................don't understand who is secure?????
    doesn't make sense????
    any further ideas???

    herb
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,164
    First Name:
    Liz
    Do you have https: at the beginning of the addresses?

    If not, change it.

    Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) is the secure version of HTTP, the protocol over which data is sent between your browser and the website that you are connected to. The 'S' at the end of HTTPS stands for 'Secure'. It means all communications between your browser and the website are encrypted. HTTPS is often used to protect highly confidential online transactions like online banking and online shopping order forms.
    Web browsers such as Internet Explorer, Firefox and Chrome also display a padlock icon in the address bar to visually indicate that a HTTPS connection is in effect.
     
  5. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    TOTALLY WEIRD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    made no changes to firefox....................just checked to see if my sites had https
    thay all did and suddenly they all opened up
    keeping my fingers and toes crossed and hoping i never see that msg again
    AGAIN...........................THANK YOU........................THANK YOU.......................THANK YOU.
    marking it solved



    herb






    herb
     
  6. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    SOLVED
     
  7. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
  8. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    you're not going to believe this..........................no changes were made after i marked it solved
    we're back to square one......................connection not secure
    it's now unsolved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    HELP!!!!!

    herb
     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,371
    First Name:
    Derek
    what antivirus are you using?
    Which sites is this happening in? Is it all sites or only 1 or 2
    If only 1 or 2 then please give the link to the sites so we can see what might be wrong.
     
  10. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    thanks for the reply

    avg and Malwarebytes

    herb
     
  11. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    using avg and mawarebytes
    thanks for the quick reply


    herb
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,371
    First Name:
    Derek
    see if this helps
    disable scanning of TSL/SSL traffic:
    Open AVG and click "Options" -> "Advanced Settings" -> "Web Browsing Protection" -> "Online Shield" -> "Expert Settings" Uncheck "Scan encrypted (TLS and SSL) network traffic" option.
     
  13. lilaco

    lilaco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    thanks for the quick reply
    I open up avg........................don't see options..................get to advanced settings...................don't see web browsing protection and can't go any further with your suggestion
    what am I doing wrong

    herb
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210440

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice