1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firewall Configuration

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Mermaid, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mermaid

    Mermaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    I just used ShieldsUp to do a probe on my ports and:eek: ,,, the only one on Stealth is Netbios, all others are listed as closed,( not stealth!!) there is one open, Port 135 , It says to use Personal Firewall to close it, and do it soon. I have Tiny personal firewall but obviously it is configured wrong, could someone here please help out? and tell me how to correctly set it to keep nasties out.
     
  2. Dark Star

    Dark Star

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,054
  3. Mermaid

    Mermaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Many thanks for the information, after reading all that, I'm no wiser on how to block port 135 etc. Have been trying for the past 2 hours, as you say , it is a hard firewall to config, and I GIVE UP. I have Norton P.F 2002 on disc but I find it hogs resources,( as all Norton products seem to on my machine,) I have Norton Virus 2003 on Win Me, 20mb-hd, 192 ram ,so I don't really want to use another Norton product ( Norton PF 2002 )unless I really have to. Any other free firewalls out there that you know of and that are relatively easy to config for a newbie
     
  4. Mermaid

    Mermaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Did a bit of research and decided to go with Sygate P.F.,now config as all ports in blocked mode, will see how things go, many thanks for your time. Problem resolved for now.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    I use Tiny firewall version 2 and find it easy to configure to block port 135

    all you do is open firewall administration/select advanced/click on add rule/

    give a name in top box

    better way is to follow attached screenshot
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116761

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice