1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

firewall for virus?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by JE_Seeks, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JE_Seeks

JE_Seeks Thread Starter

Hi,
    I finally got to pick up my new computer this morning and I just now finished plugging it all together step by step.
    They make it pretty easy for those of us just learning about all this PC stuff.

here is my question:

I was told to be sure to get some sort of a freewall or firewall (I was told that I needed it for protection from viruses) and that I can dowload for free, and I don't really know how to download anything, or where to download this from.

Go easy on me as I'm new to this stuff but I'm a quick learner.

Thank you for your help in advance

2. SavvyLady

SavvyLady

3. SavvyLady

SavvyLady

If I was going to buy a virus scanner t would be PC cillin or Nortons

4. Dark Star

Dark Star

JE_Seeks.

Welcome to TSG......

just my two cents worth.......

It is called a firewall not a freewall and Zone Alarm as Savvy suggested is a very good one you click on the link she gave you.

As for a Virus scanner, I'm not too up on those, but you should use one again I think Savvy is giving you a good one to try out.

never mind I don't use one, and I should but I don't want to confuse you here.

You are in good hands with Savvy........ and I'm sure you will do well IF you follow her instructions, you will have a great start.

Good Luck,

DS

5. JE_Seeks

JE_Seeks Thread Starter

SavvyLady