Firewall

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
Just went to Road Runner. Is it imperative to have a firewall or is this more dependent on the type of surfing you do? I don't have any critical information such as banking or account numbers stored on my pc. I guess the worst that could be done is somebody get in and crash the system. If so, what would be a basic and free one.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Hi Deke

Zonealarm free firewall appears to be the most popular

There's also sygate....tiny.....if you do a search on this site you will find a lot of information and links in the threads

steam
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
Thanks. I usually do search ,but on something like this I like to get a fresh perspective.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
5,531
Deke,

Try here : http://www.free-firewall.org

I use Sygate - it says on this site that Sygate is a 30 dayer - well its actually free for personal users. Use Google and get it somewhere else if you opt for this one. Most prefer ZA or Sygate.

For your info try here :

http://www.pcflank.com

They will run a series of tests showing what can be learned from your pc if you are not running a F/W. Go back there again and test your F/W if / when you get one.



RSM123
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
RSM123-How safe is that type of site that checks your system? They must have the opportunity to gather all kinds of informaiton.

I guess I am a little paranoid about giving access to my pc.

I guess that would be an oxymoron as I don't have a firewall.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
5,531
Deke,

Sorry for not replying to your query about PCFLANK I had to log off. I actually got the link on another forum where a long time poster recommended it. I agree that this doesn't prove the legitimacy of the site but I tested my Firewall there as soon as it was installed.

My first battery of tests indicated I was stealthed on all ports except 137 / 139 - The Netbios / File Sharing. If you get the same return then check out the GRC.COM link supplied above as the site owner provides a walkthrough for disabling this .... if you are not on a home network of course.


Good Luck,


RSM123.
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
Thanks guys. I downloaded ZA and have it running. Did a test on it and the only negative was on browsing and cookies. Also reveived this on ZA when I accessed this site:

<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=668590">

I will do more reading on the subject but at my age and level of expertise it is a slow go with a low level of retention.
 

Attachments

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
I guess my brain isn't dead yet. Found this:

Program Name: CFD

Executable Name: CFD.exe

Required: No

Comments: BroadJump Client Foundation. Broadband troubleshooting software installed by various companies. Not required and you can remove it via Add/Remove programs .

Found it here:http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM.

Will this hurt to leave it are if I delete it I wonder if it will have any effect on the operation of Road Runner?
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
I promise I will not keep this up. One more quick question. Since I am on a cable connection and connected all the time would it be prudent to click the "Stop all internet activity" button during periods of inactivity?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Not really.

Your firewall will protect you from all unwanted traffic anyway.
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
Thanks Tony. I have been like a kid with a new toy. This cable connection is awesome. I downloaded about 10 or 12 updates that I never did on dial-up and it took about 2 or so minutes. Some sites are still a little slow but I guess that is the site and not the cables fault.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Yes, isn't it great? :D

I went from my analog modem straight to 1024 Kbit/s DSL, and even that's been upped to 1536 kbps per January 1st.

It's funnnn!
 

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,169
I wonder where I could check the Kbps on my connection? I haven't paid any attention to the downloads while they were going on.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top