1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firewall'less Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by fatcat6499, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fatcat6499

    fatcat6499 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    I need a router with OUT a firewall if anyone could tell me one I would appreciate it
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Since the NAT layer is the primary firewall component in a router, and it's necessary to allow more than one computer to share the single public IP address, what you seek doesn't exist. The closest you can come is by putting one computer in the DMZ to allow full access to the Internet.
     
  3. fatcat6499

    fatcat6499 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    how do i do that?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    In the router configuration, you pick an IP address from your local network and configure it in the DMZ. Look at your router's manual or help for specific instructions, it obviously varies for different brands.
     
  5. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Well, they do exist, and it is possible to run NAT without running a firewall, it just happens to be very easy to add firewall capabilities to NAT function. Since specific actions must happen for NAT to work at all, adding rules to not allow those actions to happen means traffic doesn't flow, hence a simple firewall.

    The easiest solution for him might be to just configure the firewall to allow everything. This is relatively simple to do, generally one or two rules long (allow everything in and out, or allow everything in, allow everything out).

    fatcat, what kind of router are you looking for? Right now, we're assuming a SOHO broadband router used to connect to cable modems or DSL modems. If you're talking about Frame or T1 type access, that's a whole different ball game, and most routers for that don't come with a firewall unless you specifically want a firewall added.

    -Scott
     
  6. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    I don't think you can buy a personal router that does not have a firewall. Since the router inspects the IP headers, it is easy to put a port filtering firewall into the router. Most routers come with no firewall rules installed so they are open in this regard.

    However, since routers use NAT, it is inherently impossible (well very difficult) by default to access a computer behind the router, regardless if there is firewall present or not. You need to set up port forwarding or you need to put the computer in the DMZ.
     
  7. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Well, to access computers behind the NAT, you'll need 1 static IP for every box, and you'll need to configure static NAT for those IP's to point to the NATed addresses. But, then we're assuming that's what he's trying to accomplish by removing the firewall.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271055

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice