1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Firewalls and routers, huh?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by onlykims, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. onlykims

onlykims Thread Starter

I am a little embarrassed to admit this, but I seem to have a fundamental flaw in my thought processes. I don't see the need for a firewall, or purpose, if you are behind a router, but I believe that thought to be incorrect at the same time. I'm really hoping that some kind, knowledgeable soul will inform me what exactly a firewall does that a router does not. I'm currently studying networking and security so it's just a little important that I have a good grasp of this. :) I really appreciate the help and apologize if this post should have been placed elsewhere (I did look). This site is terrific and I wouldn't want to...well, you know. :)
    Kim

2. doggard

doggard

At a very basic level routers do what they are designed to do they pass packets of data up and down stream from A to Z without restriction whilst a firewall censors what data goes in,what data comes out and which ports are used.

So one would be an open house and the other house would have locks on the inside and outside of the front door.

3. onlykims

onlykims Thread Starter

Ah, and this "inspection" of the packets obviously comes in varying degrees depending on product, correct? Pardon the ignorance on the topic, I'm just starting to look at the securities. It would appear that I've been a sitting duck..... :(
    Kim

4. doggard

doggard

Its like having a doorman if you not dressed right your not coming in ;)
    How Routers Work
    How Firewalls Work