1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

firewire pci card not detected

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ronteees, Jul 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Hello, hope you can help. My win98se doesn't recognize the ieee1394 pci card. I've tried different IRQ, manual install, software install what else is there.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi ronteees, welcome to TSG.

    When you first put the card into the machine and start windows, does windows attempt to pick it up?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Email from poster (you can just hit the reply to thread button, it'll make things easier)


    No it did not. I've tried manually, through "add hardware", but to no avail.



    ******

    Is the card seated correctly into the slot? Do you have plug and play enabled in the bios setup? Do you have power connected to it?
     
  4. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry, about that

    Yes, it's seated securely in the slot.
    Yes, PnP is enabled.
    Yes, the power is connected to the card.

    By the way, thanks for you help.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    No problem, you're welcome....it's just that I don't have all the answers (hehe, believe it or not ;) ).

    Do you have another slot you can try it in?
     
  6. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for your effort.

    I have tried switching pci slots with my modem and into empty pci slot, but still no detection. Just so you know, my camcorder is JVC, plug into a socket (not battery) and is in play mode the entire time i'm doing these test.

    Would upgrading to XP help any? Should the bios be PnP enabled? (What would happen?)
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I have a firewire card sitting here on my desk, but as yet, I haven't attempted to install one......so, I guess I'm wondering if it would be best to keep the camera disconnected until you have the card setup first?

    Also, you DO have the bios set to Plug n Play right now, correct?

    If you can't get Windows to recognized the card, I'm not sure if upgrading the operating system will help.

    Can you take a look in the control panel, system, device manager....do you have a free IRQ? My understanding is that the firewire WILL NOT play on the same IRQ as anything else.....you may have to free up an IRQ by disabling com ports, or other devices you may not be using.
     
  8. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, PnP is enabled (it was just a thought)

    Disabling a comport, how would I do that?
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Let's start by seeing the current IRQ setup.

    Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok...go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste the listing.
     
  10. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry for the dely, I was posting earlier from work.

    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Creative Sound Blaster 16 Plug and Play
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 Intel HaM Data Fax Voice
    9 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    10 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    10 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 3D Prophet 4000XT TV Out
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, kiddo, I think that is the problema....no free IRQs....

    Anything connected to com 1 or com 2....your serial ports on the back of the computer.......if not, do you know how to access your bios setup to disable them there?
     
  12. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    How's this:

    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Intel HaM Data Fax Voice #2
    4 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    5 Creative Sound Blaster 16 Plug and Play
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 (free)
    10 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    10 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 3D Prophet 4000XT TV Out
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

    Disabled com1
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    That might work, give it another shot.....fingers crossed. Just restart with the card in the machine, don't hook anything up to it yet.
     
  14. ronteees

    ronteees Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    I crossed my fingers.
    I rebooted w/o power, didn't recognize it.
    I rebooted with power, and still didn't recognize it.

    Tried manually adding hardware, still no recognition.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You're sure you are running 98SE? Because that card isn't supposed to work with first edition?

    I'm beginning to wonder if the card is bad........you don't by chance have another computer you can pop it into, do you?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/88555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice