First Build need help please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ChickenMan85

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2021
Messages
3
I just completed my first build. It is a b550m motherboard ryzen 3500x cpu running a 250 m.2 boot ssd and a 1tb hdd with gskill 3600 4 sticks memory just got it up and running haven't plugged into internet yet. Tried running with xmp on ran fine but now is randomly shutting down and restarting but doesn't note that it shut down abnormally. What Is going on?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,516
First of all, post ALL of your exact specs; ie exact motherboard, exact pw supply, exact video card, etc, etc. Do not post "500W ps supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.

Have you checked temps and voltages in the bios? If not, do so and post the following; cpu temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values. Let it run in the bios for at least two min to stabilize temps/voltages.
 

ChickenMan85

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2021
Messages
3
Aorus b550m pro-p motherboard
Ryzen 3500x
Gskill royal 8gb 3600 dual channel 4 sticks
Gamemax 800w 80 bronze
Asus Gt1030
33°c cpu and system
1.104v cpu
1.224v memory
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,516
Where are the 12V, 5V, and 3.3V readings?
The very first thing I would do would be to test your ram with memtest.
Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
Make the bootable usb and run boot the system with the usb. Run memtest for at least 1hr. If there is one error, it is too many.
Next on the support page for your board, you will find system information viewer under the utility section. Note you must install app center prior to installing SIV. Once done, use SIV to monitor temps and voltages while running a stress test. Use prime95, OCCT, or realbench for the stress test [all free downloads]
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,516
3.3v 20a
5v 20a
12v 60a
You are not understanding. You need to post the voltage readings; not the max amp output from the pw supply. I am going to be OFF for the rest of the night. I will check this in the morning.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,516
I just looked up the specs on your pw supply. I have never heard of that mfg however it has a whopping 1yr warranty. Any decent pw supply will have at the very least a 5yr warranty and most are 7~10yr. If the maker of your pw supply only warrants it for 1yr, that alone should tell you about the quality.
If you need to swap parts to find the problem, that pw supply would be the very first part I would swap.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top