First network problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

itsmeagain

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
10
I'm having some problems setting up my first home network. I have a laptop and desktop both running Windows 98. The desktop has a Realtek card, and the laptop an Intel card. I wish to connect between the two with no hub and am using a 5e cable. Unfortunately I have no idea what network configuration I should be using (I'm new at this kind of thing, so no acronyms or ob scure references, please!)

Can anyone help?
 

Squashman

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Originally posted by itsmeagain:
Yes, it is - though I don't know what that means!
You need a crossover cable when connecting two computers directly to each other.

Now open up a ms-dos prompt on each machine and type ipconfig /all

Post those results here for each computer.

Do you understand how to add protocols to your network settings. Because Johnwill is going to come along and tell you to install NetBeui.
 

itsmeagain

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
10
The results - laptop first

Host Name . . . . . . . . . : OEMCOMPUTER
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . : 195.92.195.95
195.92.195.94
Node Type . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
NetBIOS Scope ID. . . . . . :
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . : No
NetBIOS Resolution Uses DNS : No

0 Ethernet adapter :

Description . . . . . . . . : PPP Adapter.
Physical Address. . . . . . : 44-45-53-54-00-00
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 81.76.128.6
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . : 81.76.128.6
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 01 01 80 00:00:00
Lease Expires . . . . . . . : 01 01 80 00:00:00


IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . :
Lease Expires . . . . . . . :

1 Ethernet adapter :

Description . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8139-series PCI NIC

Physical Address. . . . . . : 00-10-DC-60-96-14
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 169.254.101.75
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 09 26 03 12:15:03
Lease Expires . . . . . . . :

Does that make sense?

As for protocols, I understand the computers need to speak the same 'language' but understand little more than that, I'm afraid - thanks for your help
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
79
Try this, if you arent using those computers to connect to the internet, and even if you are just test this and tell me if it works:

Connect the cable to both computers

Properties of Network nieghborhood on both of them, propertys of TCP/IP, Specify this address: 192.168.1.1 on the laptop, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0, then for the other computer, 192.168.1.2 with the same subnet mask, then set them on the same workgroup

ping between the computers, if it works, its not the physical connection.

also name those computers something unique for each then try to find them on the network nieghborhood.

If you are going to access the internet, using cable, not dial up, I suggest getting a few straight through cables and a hub.
 

itsmeagain

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
10
I tried pinging with the new addresses - the response on both was 'Destination host unreachable' all 4 times. Does this mean the connection is bad?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
242
Hello!

Could you please answer just a couple questions so we can better help you.

What operating system do you have on each computer?

What do you want to do with your network? Do you want to share files and printers? Do you want to share internet connection? Do you want to play games between the computers?

If you could answer these questions it would be great. Thanks.
 

itsmeagain

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
10
I have Windows 98 on each - I'd like to share files eg so that I can download emails on either computer but save them on just the desktop, and share an internet connection.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
242
check this out...
URL=http://www.homenethelp.com/ics/ics-install-arch.asp]click here[/URL]

you can also browse the site for other stuff about setting up a network.[
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top