1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

First time dealing with laptop simple problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lalo_mrv, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lalo_mrv

lalo_mrv Thread Starter

Ok I have a laptop that aparently the fan went bad. First, is there any precautions before opening my laptop to change the fan?(dont want to mess anything) What kind of fan do I need (size, type) or all the fans are standard for any laptop. Like I said, its my first time trying to fix one. Any comment is appreciated(y)

2. ozrom1e

ozrom1e

Welcome to TSG....

If this is the first time you are going to do this I would suggest DON'T. Please take it to a repair shop and ask the tech if you can watch because there is a lot of sensitive parts that are static sensitive and other problems that might arise. A few bucks spent wisely is better than a lot of bucks spent fixing it after it is goofed up. Laptops are their own special devices and require a special touch. It is sort of like the commercial years ago for Fram oil filters, Pay me now or pay me later.

3. lalo_mrv

lalo_mrv Thread Starter

Well I could very easily do that, but am here asking because I want to do it my self. I come to the forums to learn and have an experience. W/ that said am willing to take the risk :D . but ill need some help. Were do I start:cool:

4. ozrom1e

ozrom1e