1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fixing Internet Connectivity problems (ideas?)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by phillyphil, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. phillyphil

phillyphil Thread Starter

Hi all,

Since I'm seeing a lot of this these days as a computer technician, I'm wondering if there are any solutions I can try to fix internet connectivity problems on customers' computers. What I mean is this; lots of times I get calls from customers who say their computer is running just fine, but can't connect to the internet, even though they used to be able to. Doesn't seem to matter if it's XP or 98, these customers lose their connectivity, and even though I may scan for viruses and spyware/adware (and remove those references, if present) I still will not be able to connect to the internet. This can be with either high-speed or dialup connections. Any tips on how to resolve this issue without forcing the customer to go through the pain of a clean install and losing their original data? My guess is that the internet connectivity itself can be reinstalled, but I'm not sure how to do this, other than doing an overinstall of said OS.

Thanks,

phillyphil

2. BillC

BillC

Try telling them to unplug their modem from the power socket for about 30 seconds or so, then plug it back in. See if thet works.

BTW, the same is true with a router. :)

3. Jae

Jae

Actually, I went through the same problem awhile back. I could use the internet until I viewed certain pages such as AJC.com, Delta.com, a fitness board I moderate on, and a few others.

I would be disconnected and not able to connect again until I had powered my machine off and then powered it back on again.