Flash Drive issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
:confused:Hi, I decided to move some files to my flash drive. And this info popped up, the flash has name (norton bootable recovery tool) and the following files are in it: boot, efi, sources and autorun. How do I put it back? I am sure this was the kids. I have windows xp and my system has been really crappy.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
Are there supposed to be any files on it that are important to you or that you need? If not, go to the start icon in the bottom left hand corner, click computer. Then, look for your flash drive. Right click it and select format. Where it says volume label, you can give the flash drive any name you want. Caution: if they are or were important files on there, let me know, because formatting the flash drive will remove everything on it.
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
Thanks for the reply -- I really not sure, for example WIM File is in the bootfile, drivers are in the source file, various items that seem important.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
The name of the flash drive tells it all "norton bootable recovery tool." If you have norton and your computer becomes so badily infected that you can't get into windows, you would download this tool to a flash drive, boot to the flash drive, and hopefully the tool solves all your problems. So yes there should be a bootfile and drivers on the flash drive, because it is the norton bootable recovery tool
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
So can I remove this and start over - Because I did not put it on my flash drive. I do have norton with comcast that not working correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
If it is your flash drive, yes you can format it. If needed, you can always reinstall it from norton's website. You will need to provide your PIN in order to redownload it though.

What do you mean by "I do have norton with comcast that not working correctly." Norton isn't working properly?
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
No its not - I just have the icon - it won't download, I really have many issue with my system. It usable but crappy . Then norton comes with the comcast triple play cable, internet, phone.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
You do not have to use norton just because you have comcast and they supply it. You can choose from many different antiviruses. I would recommend downloading one and seeing if you have any viruses, unless you want to try and fix the norton issue. If your computer has many issues and is so slow that it is unusable, it is most likely a virus.

Here is a forum on TSG that has a great list of tools.

http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/110854-security-help-tools.html

You will need to remove norton before installing any other antivirus. Having multiple antiviruses installed will create more problems. I am not a virus removal specialist, and therefore I cannot assist you in that aspect. If you can do it yourself, then do so. If not, hopefully a removal specialist will help you when they can.
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
Thanks, will do-- but let me ask you this last question -- I posted on 1-29 while running a system check this came up on the report WMI service '\\.\root\cimv2' and all test showed failed never got answer do you know with it means?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
I am not 100% sure but I do know of the WMI service and it is a pretty important service that is required by a lot of the programs on Windows.

When you said you ran a system check and you were reported this, what exactly did you use to run this system check?

You might have to run a Windows repair tool to fix this. I think it could be one of the problems with your computer, but I am not 100 % sure as I said before.
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
The computer is and hp pavillion its old. And I ran network diagnostic in the system and it gave me that information.
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
I posted all the results from that report on 1-29 (you can check out) but I will see if the other forum can help with that. Thank you so much for your time.
 

nashop

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
11
I don't know what you would call it. Because I can still use the computer. Sometimes its just slow. Viewing the report made me aware that I had some problems
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
I looked at it. Don't know exactly much about it. Basically, to me, looks like it is showing you the services failing because they are dependent upon the wmi service. So, obviously if there is a problem with the wmi service, then the services dependent upon it will have problems as well.

The flash drive is pretty much done, and you know what to do on that. I would start with the scanning of viruses. Either let me know if you need help fixing norton, or lets remove norton and run scans with other programs. I would run a couple of scans with different programs. Let me know if it got a lot of viruses or none. Let me know how the system is after that. Then, let me know if you are having any problems (e.g. can't get on internet, it's still slow, etc.).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top