1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

flash not working/internet explorer problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by sweetcheekies, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sweetcheekies

    sweetcheekies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Ok.. first off let me tell you I have no clue how to navigate around Win 7 as I personally don't use it. My cousin is having alot of difficulty with her new computer and I am trying to help her out.

    First off.. ran malaware. nothing found

    she is running Win 7 64 bit.. version i have no clue as the way I thought you would find it don't show that..

    Now problem #1.. flash .. almost every page she goes to says she needs to install Adobe flash player.. this she has done and its updated. When I search the internet I am seeing that she needs to use a 32 bit brower, this is where problem 2 comes in

    Can't install them it seems. or I am not installing the right thing.. firefox wont install I get an error about can't load a script I believe.. I can run google chrome ( but it wants flash installed so im thinking its the 64 bit version.)

    I have 32bit browser installed ( but it sucks royally ) can someone point me in the right direction on how to get a 32 browser.. I don't care if its IE or what but something that works.

    Thanks and remember I totally dont' know what i am doing in Win7 so be kind in the directions .. :)
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Go to the Internet Explorer Tools(Right Hand Top)---->Manage Add-ons----->
    Disable the flash player addon and then try installing the flash player from adobe
     
  3. sweetcheekies

    sweetcheekies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    I don't even show it in there. yet I know we have it installed...
     
  4. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Does it shows up in add/remove(now prog and features)?
     
  5. sweetcheekies

    sweetcheekies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    yes it shows in add/remove programs.. from what I am reading its because she is Win 7 64 bit ? she needs to run a 32bit browser and I dont know what ones are 32bit .. and Firefox will not install she gets a ton of script errors
     
  6. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Go to the windows drive--->Program Files--->Internet Explorer(x86)--->open iexplore.exe and try installing flash.
    Yes the problem occurs because the windows is 64 Bit
    As an alternative ,try removing all instances of Flash Player and then reinstall it.
    For an alternative browser,
    try opera,google chrome and Lunascape:
    www.Lunascape.tv
     
  7. sweetcheekies

    sweetcheekies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Google downloaded i think in a 64bit.. because flash would not work on it.. Opera I installed it clicked finish and i cannot find it anywhere on that computer what so ever.. will look into lunascape however.. and I have heard that win 7 64 bit cannot run adobe flash..
     
  8. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Sorry for the confusion,
    Try downloading Firefox x32 and "not x64".
    Install the flash player addon then
    Might help
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918034

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice