1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

flashing lines

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pert74, Apr 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pert74

    pert74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I have vertical columns of horizontal flashing lines that I can't get rid of? The lines are about two pixels apart. Each column is about 1 1/2 inch wide. It started with one column, then two and now seemes to be progressing.
    These lines only flash within windows, not the desktop, therefore I figure it isn't the hardware.They also seem worse after booting or initial use after inactivity. Also these lines do not show in a screen shot.
    So far I have initialized my Hard Drive and installed a new clean updated OS, no luck.
    I then went to NVIDIA and did their automatic driver update, no luck.
    (1 M7803 GRAPHICS CARD 256, GEFORCE 6800)

    Can you help?
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,511
    Try a Safe Mode boot please usually F8 on first post and keep tapping lightly, until it displays options of Safe Mode.
    If it still does this in Safe Mode, please go to Control Panel, Display, Settings and select a lower resolution in Colours.
    If problem still exists please check at rear of Tower, is there a monitor connection on the vertical ie: below the mouse and keyboard as well as where you connect presumably lower down on the horizontal.
     
  3. pert74

    pert74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I tried Safe Mode. The lines were less obvious but still there.
    I tried less colors ( 32 to 16 bit), no help.
    I tried reducing pixels, no help. I also tried combinations there of.
    I am not sure what I am supposed to try in your last suggestion?
    I have three wires going to the graphics card. They are color coded by Dell so I can't go wrong.
    I also have a TV tuner card.
    Thanks
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,511
    Look at this attachment, the image on the LEFT. Forget about the leads shown.
    On the connections below where the mouse and keyboard go is the 15pin sub D connector - numbered 6 - for the monitor using the onboard graphics card, ie the chip on the motherboard.
    Your monitor with the TV card connection will be somewhere near where the leads are.
    DO YOU have the monitor connection as shown.
    If so, connect to that and see what the result is.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pert74

    pert74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I have both VGA & DVI connections. The monitor 15 pin plug seems properly connected, the only spot similar is a serial port. I have no booster, I have used rehistry cleaner but the lines were still visible after a clean OS install, when there was no tweaking. Now after boot or idle time lines are the way across my monitor and later revert back to 2 vertical bands 1 1/2 inches wide. I tried to attach my computer picture here.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919665

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice