1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Floating Point Support Not Loaded

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by swamprat, Nov 9, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swamprat

    swamprat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Can anyone tell me what this error message is? "Floating Point Support Not Loaded", I can get it to repeat itself when clearing the History in IE. But I'm told that it pops up in other things too. I need to find out what it is, and how to fix it. The computer is running Windows ME, and IE 6.0.

    Thanks!
    Swamprat
     
  2. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    "Floating point not loaded" is Microsoft C's run-time message when the
    code requires a numeric coprocessor but your computer doesn't have one
    installed.
    As of yet I have no idea how to resolve this but I am working on it.
     
  3. swamprat

    swamprat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    thanks, that's surely more than I knew already! if you come up with more, let me know, and if I come up with anything, I'll let you know as well!
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,205
    Hiya

    I found this, but not sure if it means anything to you

    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q37/5/07.ASP?LN=EN-US&SD=gn&FR=0

    Are you programming, by any chance?

    Does this error come up when you're online? If so, try the repair whilst I'm searching

    Control Panel | AddRemove. Doubleclick Microsoft Interent explorer. Choose Repair, apply and restart.

    Also, have you got the latest updates?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,205
  6. swamprat

    swamprat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    I'm not programming, nor is the person that runs the computer. It has all the critical updates, temp files cleaned, temp folder clear, temporary internet files deleted, and all cookies deleted. I ran IE repair tool, and still got the same. Norton Windoctor, and Diskdoctor has been run, and it's been defragged. Actually there shouldn't be any other "programs" loaded, but I really didn't look to see if something new was added lately either. There isn't many local access numbers for isp's, but that don't mean they didn't try to load something either! As you've probably figured out by now, it isn't my computer, but one I'm working on. It resides at the local Health Dept, so it will be Tuesday before I can try anything.... Thanks lots! And I'll let you know how it goes!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Floating Point Support
  1. bj nick
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    463
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice