1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

floppy disc doesn't work on boot up

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ali h 86, Feb 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ali h 86

    ali h 86 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    when trying to use windows me boot up disc computer skips past the floppy drive and just starts normally. Is this normal or does windows me not start this way if an error occurs?

    any help or guidance would be appreciated.
     
  2. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
    Hi and welcome.
    Right click my computer on the desktop, properties, on the performance tab, click file system, on the floppy disk tab, make sure the box "search for new floppy disc each time your computer starts" is checked.
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Where did you get the boot disk? Does the PC search the drive while booting? If it does and bypasses the disk there are no system files on the boot disk, if it doesn't the BIOS isn't set to search for a floppy disk as a boot device.
     
  4. ali h 86

    ali h 86 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    The disk is fine its just the drive doesn't start up on boot up.

    I have checked the properties and there correct.
     
  5. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    You need to go into the bios and check to see if it is set to boot to floppy 1st. I am guessing it is probably set to boot to the c drive first.

    Let us know
     
  6. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    If the drive works, it would have to be the BIOS or a bad boot floppy.
     
  7. ali h 86

    ali h 86 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Changed floppy to boot first in bios as was on hardrive.

    cheers techguys!
     
  8. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Glad you got it working.
    Have a great day.
    ;)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice