1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Floppy Disk to "C" Drive

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by ezy, Dec 23, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Would someone please tell me if there is a way to put a 'game' from a floppy disk onto the hard drive. It says to type INSTALL and press Enter. It looks like it's installed on the "C" drive but when I go to click on it, it's just a blank and then it tells me I have performed an illegal action.
    I'm an ol' grandma I know but once in a while I like to play this game. The name of it is Crystal Caves. Any help would be appreciated.

    Happy Holidays to All,
    Ezy
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    I don't know a thing about games Ezy but seems to me something isn't right..
    when you check the floppy is it still on it?? Try to download it again & install it.
     
  3. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Thanks Saavylady but I have installed it twice and the same thing happens. I just wonder if you can put something like that from a floppy disk to you hard drive. I sure don't know.

    Thanks again,
    Ezy
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Hiya

    Just reread your post and have an idea. Is it an .exe that you have installed on the floppy?

    If so, you can either copy it or move it to your harddrive. Just go to windows Explorer, and click on the floppy drive. Then, when it shows all your files stored on the disk, just drag into a folder, say My Documents. If it won't copy, then we'll try something else.

    If it does, try accessing the file that is the exe and see if that works. If there are many files, just create a folder just for that program.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Thank you eddie for answering.
    I went to Windows Explorer and clicked on the "A" drive and then could see what was in it but there is no .exe for that. There is one for 'catalog.exe' and also Deice.exe (don't know what that is) and 5 others one of which is 'Install.bat'. I named a folder and called it Crystal Caves (name of the game) and I then drug all the files over to it but it didn't work. I suppose because there is no .exe, don't you think?
    Do you have another idea? :)

    You are a long way from here!!

    Ezy
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  7. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Hello Rog,
    No the "Install.bat" disn't work either. It even asked for a second disk which didn't come with these. This game is by Apogee and when I only had a computer that used floppies that is when I got it. (Don't remember how I used it; whether it was just straight from the floppie or whether I had it on the "C" drive.

    I'lll take any other suggestions. :)

    Ezy
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Have you ever ran that game on your current computer sucessfully. It seems to be very old, states it needs an EGA compatible video adapter which I doubt you have if you have upgraded computers.

    Sorry, I tried to download it to see what's up but I can only get it from fileplanet and I refuse to register for gamespy
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  10. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    It's a dos based game, at least the one I just downloaded.
    Go to the folder you copied the game to, dos it have a cc1.exe file, if so try to run it.
    I was surprised, it actually started up in 2k, no sound thougt
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    With Brian as guinea pig, I tried it too -- and even got some sound from the case speaker. :)
     
  12. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    HeHe I will try anything once.

    Reminded me of the old donkeykong games lol
     
  13. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Brian and Rog,
    Thank you for your suggestions. I am going to see if I can download the program. (It's just a neat little program at least I think so) and then if I can run it (if I can figure out how to unzip it) I will let you know.

    Don't know if I'm allowed to say this but here goes: Brian where in Minnesota are you from? I was from Brainerd.

    Thank you again.
    Ezy
     
  14. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Mounds view, a suburb of minneapolis

    Hope the game works out for you

    Merry christmas
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62735

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice