Floppy Disk to "C" Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Would someone please tell me if there is a way to put a 'game' from a floppy disk onto the hard drive. It says to type INSTALL and press Enter. It looks like it's installed on the "C" drive but when I go to click on it, it's just a blank and then it tells me I have performed an illegal action.
I'm an ol' grandma I know but once in a while I like to play this game. The name of it is Crystal Caves. Any help would be appreciated.

Happy Holidays to All,
Ezy
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
I don't know a thing about games Ezy but seems to me something isn't right..
when you check the floppy is it still on it?? Try to download it again & install it.
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Thanks Saavylady but I have installed it twice and the same thing happens. I just wonder if you can put something like that from a floppy disk to you hard drive. I sure don't know.

Thanks again,
Ezy
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Just reread your post and have an idea. Is it an .exe that you have installed on the floppy?

If so, you can either copy it or move it to your harddrive. Just go to windows Explorer, and click on the floppy drive. Then, when it shows all your files stored on the disk, just drag into a folder, say My Documents. If it won't copy, then we'll try something else.

If it does, try accessing the file that is the exe and see if that works. If there are many files, just create a folder just for that program.

Regards

eddie
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Thank you eddie for answering.
I went to Windows Explorer and clicked on the "A" drive and then could see what was in it but there is no .exe for that. There is one for 'catalog.exe' and also Deice.exe (don't know what that is) and 5 others one of which is 'Install.bat'. I named a folder and called it Crystal Caves (name of the game) and I then drug all the files over to it but it didn't work. I suppose because there is no .exe, don't you think?
Do you have another idea? :)

You are a long way from here!!

Ezy
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Hello Rog,
No the "Install.bat" disn't work either. It even asked for a second disk which didn't come with these. This game is by Apogee and when I only had a computer that used floppies that is when I got it. (Don't remember how I used it; whether it was just straight from the floppie or whether I had it on the "C" drive.

I'lll take any other suggestions. :)

Ezy
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Have you ever ran that game on your current computer sucessfully. It seems to be very old, states it needs an EGA compatible video adapter which I doubt you have if you have upgraded computers.

Sorry, I tried to download it to see what's up but I can only get it from fileplanet and I refuse to register for gamespy
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
It's a dos based game, at least the one I just downloaded.
Go to the folder you copied the game to, dos it have a cc1.exe file, if so try to run it.
I was surprised, it actually started up in 2k, no sound thougt
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Brian and Rog,
Thank you for your suggestions. I am going to see if I can download the program. (It's just a neat little program at least I think so) and then if I can run it (if I can figure out how to unzip it) I will let you know.

Don't know if I'm allowed to say this but here goes: Brian where in Minnesota are you from? I was from Brainerd.

Thank you again.
Ezy
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Mounds view, a suburb of minneapolis

Hope the game works out for you

Merry christmas
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top