1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Floppy diskette seek failure when booting up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Larry_Dunn, Nov 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Larry_Dunn

    Larry_Dunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    A friend helped me with a PC problem recently but created another one inadvertently.

    Whenever I turn on my pc, I get a message saying"

    Floppy diskette seek failure
    Strike the F1 key to continue, F2 to run the setup utility


    I have to do this whenever I turn on my computer. What can I do to make it go away? Thanks.
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    What exactly did your friend do to your pc? Did he open the case?
     
  3. Larry_Dunn

    Larry_Dunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    No, just worked on my configuration. The CD/DVD-Rom drive works fine.
     
  4. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    Funny because it sounds like the floppy cable needs reseating so i assumed he bumped it inside the case.
     
  5. ih8tmycmptr

    ih8tmycmptr

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    yeah my floppy drive died about a year ago and i get the same message. just buy a new one there about 10 bucks.
     
  6. Larry_Dunn

    Larry_Dunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    The case was never touched, so it has something to do with what he did in setup. Anyone know how I can fix it?
     
  7. schusterjo

    schusterjo

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,182
    1.Start,contol panel,system,hardware,device manager (see any yellow?) if so post where and what.
    2.start,my computer, right click on floppy,select properties, select hardware,click on floppy drive,select troubleshoot.
    3..Open case check IDE cable is seated, check power cable is plugged into the floppy well. (just don't think this is not the problem)
    4.update motherboard drivers.
     
  8. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Does the floppy work? If so then:

    Press F2 to run the setup utility and disable the floppy seek in the bios. It will most likely be in the "Advanced CMOS setup" area, or the 2nd screen depending on your bios.
     
  9. Larry_Dunn

    Larry_Dunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks schusterjo and Dan.

    schusterjo, I tried all of that and the problem is still affecting my booting up.

    Dan, I don't see anything like an advanced CMOS setup in the setup utility when I hit F2. I do know though that's where he foolesd with my setup -- it was a menu just like that which I just saw.
     
  10. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Just look around in each screen for "Seek floppy drive at boot?" or, "Disable floppy seek at boot?" or similar wording. Every bios provides instructions on every screen on navigating and toggling choices. Usually Arrow, ESC, Enter, and Page UP & Page Down keys. When you find it, make sure it's not enabled for the seek. Make sure you save the change on exiting. If you don't confirm, the changes are not saved. The machine will restart automatically.
     
  11. Sgt_Skitz

    Sgt_Skitz

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I am also getting the same error message upon startup as well. But the twist is I do not have a Floppy Disk drive on this PC and never have. Anyone have a suggestion?
     
  12. regg003

    regg003

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hello
    I am also having the same problem as Sgt. Skitz when booting up i get an error message that says "Floppy disk seek failure" "press f1 to continue, or f2 for set up" or something along those lines. im not a wizard on the computer and i was messing around in the set up menu "f2" yesterday and think i messed it up there. if anyone could lend me a helping hand it would be much appreciated.

    p.s. Whats also weird is i dont even have a floppy drive/
     
  13. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    While you may not have a floppy drive, your motherboard may have provisions for one. ie; Your motherboard may have a floppy controller, and it may be Enabled in the bios.

    If you have no floppy drive attached to your machine, first enter Device Manager and look for Floppy disk drive and Floppy drive controllers listings. If you find either, Uninstall them.

    Shut down/power off the machine, wait thirty seconds for the RAM to drain and reboot. Enter your bios and search around (as suggested in above postings) for a floppy controller. If found, ensure it's disabled.
     
  14. regg003

    regg003

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Great!!!!!! it all works fine. i found where to shut down the floppy drive. I really appreciate it. You are a savior to me!!! thanks alot Dan
     
  15. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    You're welcome.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/519475