1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

floppy drive error (40)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Volk, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Volk

    Volk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    My comp wasnt starting up and i think it was cause of my floppy drive taking some power from the motherboard, so i unplugged it and it started to work fine... but now i get this error:
    floppy drive error (40)
    Yes i know why i am getting it, because i unplugged the wires from the back of the drive.
    now i just need to know how to disable the drive or what do i do to stop this error from halting my boots?
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    In the BIOS boot options, make sure that the floppy disk drive is set below the HDD in the boot priority order, then disable the Floppy if the option to also do that is available.
     
  3. Volk

    Volk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Ahh why is it important that the floppy disk drive be set below HDD ?

    anyways since i am not that good with the comp i just did what you told me and disabled the floppy boot.. but its still in the first priority... will that cause a problem later on, or can i leave it like that?

    and Ty so much for such a fast reply!!
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    If the BIOS is set to first try to boot from the floppy disk, it will do so every time the computer boots. Only when it finds no floppy will it boot from the hard drive.

    If you set it to boot from the hard drive first, it never needs to look at the floppy.

    Normally you never have the floppy above the HDD in priority, but if ever it's needed (when you want to boot from a floppy disk) then simply change it in the BIOS.

    Most newer computers don't even have a floppy drive fitted these days.
     
  5. Volk

    Volk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    ah thx so much kiw kiw... ye i never use it.. and my comp had no problem starting up like it did when the floppy drive was plugged in.. sometimes it would start up with this crunching sound of the floppy disk and not even boot.. thats why i had unplugged it in the first place.

    anyways my comp boots without the error message now.. and TY so much [email protected]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490393

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice