Folder Sharing Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bobroosth

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2000
Messages
238
One of my clients just decided to replace two XP machines with two Vista machines. Didn't bother to ask about issues that might arise. The most serious is that one machine acts as file server to three others. Without getting into the problems of adding user accounts and making them match, the only way I found to make the data easily available was to put it in c:\users\public\documents. That works, but I would really prefer to fully control things. If anyones knows how to make ANY folder this public, I'd like to know.

In the process of trying things, I got c:\users shared. Now I cannot see a way to UN share it. What am I missing? Actually, I had tried to share c:\users\username\documents. That is when users got shared. I don't understand the logic.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Why not just share a folder directly. You don't necessarily need to use a public folder. For example you could have a C:\DATA directory, share it and assign whatever permissions you want.
 

bobroosth

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2000
Messages
238
I think I did that. The folder proved visible from the XP machines, but their content was in-accessible. If there is a way to drill down to all the security settings as one can in Windows Server 2003, I might be able to get what I want. These are my first Vista machines. Been reading a lot, but have not actually set one up before. That reading primed me to have solutions for a number of issues, but I don't recall seeing anything about this.
 

bobroosth

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2000
Messages
238
No. This is an office of four people who will not willingly be bothered with login passwords. They literally did not realize the new computers they purchased might have some new version of Windows. If they had thought about it, issues of compatibility would never have occurred to them. The bought new HPs with full MCE hardware. They will NEVER use that. But they did not ask me what they should buy, just that I come in and transfer data and install software.

I guess I should not complain. They do pay their bills.

Thanks for the second link. Somehow I was so brain-dead yesterday that I forgot to look in Folder Properties. I just picked up Sharing from the rt-click menu.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
The lack of logon password may also be affecting network access.

To change this setting:

Run gpedit.msc
Go to Computer Configuration / Windows Settings / Security Settings / Local Policies / Security Options
Double click on Accounts: Limit local account use of blank passwords to console login only
Disable this option
 

bobroosth

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2000
Messages
238
Good to know. For my purposes, for this client, turning off Password Required for Sharing and making Everyone Co-Owner of the folder allows me to put the folders where I want.

Thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Glad it's working and that the idea of having no login passwords is what got you to solve the problem.
 

TRS-80 vet

Account Closed
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
3,148
Bob Cerelli said:
The lack of logon password may also be affecting network access.

To change this setting:

Run gpedit.msc
Go to Computer Configuration / Windows Settings / Security Settings / Local Policies / Security Options
Double click on Accounts: Limit local account use of blank passwords to console login only
Disable this option
Where's gpedit.msc? I got a 'can't find' from 'run'...

I've got vista/hp.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Not at all sure of where that screenshot came from?

On mine, gpedit.msc is in the same place it was with XP Pro, in the \windows\system32 directory

What version of Vista do you have. I only have Business. Perhaps Home, like with XP, doesn't have a group policy editor.
 

TRS-80 vet

Account Closed
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
3,148
The screenshot came from my pc. When it couldn't be found, the first suspect was a different Vista version.;)
TRS-80 vet said:
Where's gpedit.msc? I got a 'can't find' from 'run'...

I've got vista/hp.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top