Fonts: TT, A, O??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Appreciate some asssistance.

Looking at the Fonts folder under Windows, and see some fonts with a TT, some with an A, and some with an O.

Q#1. What are the differences between these? What are A and O fonts?
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Thanks for the reply. Was aware of that issue. Guess one could really do some damage if some of those fonts were deleted.

Still not sure what A file and O file fonts are.

Files with an A might be fonts generated by Adobe??
Files with an O...???...any clues?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
They both appear to be MS fonts, if you right click on the properties.........the Os appear to be True Type.........

As an added thought, I have NO other fonts installed in my XP home installation.....so I have just the basics....I don't even have Word installed yet ;)
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
AcaCandy,

What I know about fonts can be written on the head of a straight pin.

Found out that fonts with an 'O' file are Open Type fonts...exactly what that is...???

My XP Home has TT, A and O? Doesn't yours?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
The O fonts on mine, if you go to properties, say TT.....so I have only A and Os.....there's a screen shot of all of my fonts on a clean install.
 

Attachments

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Hmmmmm...got 113 fonts in my XP Home. Some are TT, some are O, some A.

No clue.

Have not intentionally added fonts. Don't do any graphics work or anything to that effect.

Oh well....

Was trying to help out someone who likes to play with graphics, etc. They have Adobe Page Maker.

They want to install some 500 fonts in the Windows\Fonts folder, but I am rather hesitant about that.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
500 is quite a bit. They might install them, then browse thru them and delete the weird ones that they know they'll never use. I used to have 1000 fonts or more installed on a system, and I know I ran into some problems where I had to delete some. 1000 may be an over estimate, but there was a crap load of them.

And you don't have to intentionally add them, in your case, Word, I believe adds some, then sometimes other programs do too.......I just haven't added any programs at all, that is why I know mine is the bare minimum that Windows XP Home put there.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Originally posted by flavallee:
Be careful about messing with and deleting fonts, especially the ones that Windows and Internet Explorer need.
Oops! :eek:

Guess I better start looking for a way to replace those :p :D
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
1,182
Originally posted by Wet Chicken:
Oops! :eek:

Guess I better start looking for a way to replace those :p :D
Just read this post,and I've deleted quiet a few fonts,looks like I'll have to replace some as well.

If you go into Windows updates, you should be able to locate and reinstall the core fonts and web fonts packages.
Thanks for the tip,Frank.(y)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Originally posted by flavallee:
WetChicken:

If you go into Windows updates, you should be able to locate and reinstall the core fonts and web fonts packages.
Thanks Frank! Luckily for me they were still in the recycle bin :D
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Read somewhere that an overload of fonts can cause a decline in system performance and a sluggish PC. Most sources recommend not having more than 400 +/- installed.

Does anyone know, if a font is not installed to the C:\Windows\Fonts folder can it still be accessed and used by a program like Page Maker, for instance?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I just checked my old hard drive and I have 900 :eek: Perhaps that is why it's so slow :D

From my experience, if you want to use a particluar font, it has to be 'installed' via fonts, file menu, install new font to work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top