1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

? for the Egg

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by simonkeeps, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Mr. Egg please explain a bit more about this:

    And did you check the IDE Controllers in Device Manager?
    Are all devices/channels running in Ultra DMA mode?
    If the Hard Drive or CD-ROM (assuming the game cd is in the drive) is running in PIO mode, then that'll be your problem.
    Naturally, this depends entirely on the IDE cables, and whether they're standard 40-pin, or Ultra DMA ATA 33/66/100 80-pin cables.
    WinXP doesn't like PIO mode, and it's not too keen on standard DMA mode either.

    I went into the device manager to check my situation as
    I also have XP. I am not given any option to run in
    Ultra DMA mode. It actually says DMA if available.
    What's up?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    ?? Don't post outside of your original thread. No one will be able to tell what you are talking about. Perhaps we can get a moderator to merge the threads.
     
  3. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    It's a separate issue from what's going on there.
    I wondered what he meant, thought it be rude
    to bring my own questions into someone else's
    thread.
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Sorry, thought you started the other thread. My mistake.
     
  5. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Np, just waiting for the egg to hatch here.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You'd be best to pm him or email him......it's pretty hard to scan all the theads looking for one addressed to someone specific ;)
     
  7. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hi :)

    Ok, I've found you

    Np, just waiting for the egg to hatch here
    hehe :D

    Yes, basically, that's what I meant.
    Make sure "DMA if Available" is selected.
    You can't select the DMA/Ultra DMA mode this way, Windows automatically assigns/detects it.

    This totally depends on the following:
    Whether the drive supports DMA/uDMA
    The type of IDE cable used (ie. you can't get a device to run in Ultra DMA mode if you're using a standard 40-pin IDE connector cable)
    And in some cases (if the feature is available), BIOS settings.

    I've seen plenty of cases where people report problems of Audio CD's skipping because the relevant IDE Channel was set to run in PIO mode.
    As soon as they changed it to "DMA If Available" and rebooted, the skipping problems went away.

    Does this answer your question?
    If not, then can you please be a bit more specific . . .


    btw, I believe this is the thread you were referring to:
    http://forums.techguy.org/t119042/s.html

    ie. the infamous [head explodes] thread, lol :D
     
  8. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Thank you Mr. Egg it basically explains things, I believe
    everything but one thing said DMA if available. It may
    have been the cd rom too. That said PIO, could that
    be the reason my computer was (is) shutting down.
    It seems better now that I slowed the acceleration
    in the sound properties. But it did shut down last
    night after I went into full screen mode on a video
    clip. Any other suggestions is greatly appreciated.
     
  9. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Okay, I get the fuller picture now.
    This is all related to your "BIOS Question" thread
    where you're getting random shutdown problems.
    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=118936

    I'm also going to post something in that thread too.
    Maybe a moderator should merge the two threads, assuming that's an option on these boards?

    Have you tried switching the IDE Channel stuck in PIO Mode to "DMA if Available"?
    Does it revert back to PIO Mode when you reboot?
     
  10. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    well actually I didn't expect this thead to help
    fix my shutdowns I was just curious about
    IDE settings cause I never knew what they
    really did. Anyway here is what it says in
    the device manager under the primary IDE
    channel properties, advanced settings:

    Device 0
    Device type : Auto Detection
    Transfer mode : DMA if available
    Current Transfer mode: PIO mode


    Device 1
    Device type : Auto detection
    Transfer Mode : DMA if available
    current transfer mode : Not applicable

    This info help any?

    Thanks again Egg, acaCandy and everyone else.
     
  11. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Well, what this tells us is that you have one device on the Primary IDE Channel, and it is running in slow PIO mode. In most cases, the hard drive with the Operating System (Drive C:) is connected to the Primary IDE Channel.
    A Hard Drive with the OS running in PIO Mode is not a good sign, especially seeing the OS is WinXP.
    As stated earlier, this suggests that either the Hard Drive is old and doesn't support DMA, or the IDE cable which connects the Hard Drive to the motherboard is a standard 40-pin cable, and if it is, you will need to replace it with an Ultra ATA 33/66/100 80-pin cable . . . which isn't an easy thing to do with Laptops.
    Even if you replace it, it still might not run in DMA or Ultra DMA Mode if the hard drive itself is too old and doesn't support these modes.

    You can compare the difference in PIO/DMA/uDMA data transfer rates here:
    http://www6.tomshardware.com/storage/20020806/ide-04.html

    What devices are on the Secondary IDE Channel?
    And are these also running in PIO Mode?
     
  12. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Exactly the same except Device 0 says in
    current transfer mode : Multi-word DMA Mode 2
     
  13. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Okaaay . . .
    so you've got one hard drive and one CD-ROM drive, yes?

    If so, then this means your hard drive is running in PIO mode on the Primary IDE Channel, and your CD-ROM drive is running in DMA mode on the Secondary IDE Channel.
    If both drives support it, to achieve Ultra DMA mode, you will need to replace both IDE cables, as mentioned above.
    But seeing the hard drive won't even run in DMA mode, this suggests that it is old, and could well be the source of your problems.

    Did Windows XP come pre-installed with this laptop, or is it much older than that and it came with something like Windows 98?
    I personally wouldn't recommend installing WinXP on a hard drive which only supports PIO mode.

    [edit]
    yes, I've just read your other thread again, which confirms that the laptop originally came with Win98.
     
  14. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    But everything is working much better with XP,
    any way to change these settings or are they
    always auto-detected? Also I just went into
    the media player and surprisingly under the
    sound properties it was using windowsdefault
    instead of neo magic which was the only other
    option here, perhaps just this toggle alone
    could be my trouble... ah if life were just that
    simple... the real test will be if it works with
    media player and Kazaa running in the back-
    ground; I have almost been convinced today
    that s the problem. Can I increase a cache
    somewhere to solve things? Well, sorry to
    have strayed so far beond your simple
    analysis that my hard drive is old (yes a whole
    3 years... that's what 70 years in human years...);
    but I am not really up on IDE although I did
    read the link you sent me to and it was very
    interested in it and have bookmarked it for
    further brainfood... it may stop my head from
    exploding. Do you really think this PIO thing
    is my problem? well, thanks again for your
    help.
     
  15. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119614

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice