forever 100% CPU usage

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
Hi my cpu usage is forever at 100% usage. I read some threads on this but still it does not help my problem. I found some errors on my system:

____________________________________________

System board extension for PnP BIOS
System
This Device Has a Problem: Code=15 (0xF)
This device is causing a resource conflict. To resolve the conflict, use the
Hardware Conflict Troubleshooter in Help.
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\BIOS\*PNP0C01\02
Alloc resources: None
Forced resources: None
Boot resources: Logical Configuration 0
Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x0009FFFF
Base= x000E4000 End= x000FFFFF
Base= xF8110000 End= x1000FFFF
Base= xFFF80000 End= xFFFBFFFF
Filtered resources: Logical Configuration 0
Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x00000000 Max= x0009FFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x000E4000 Max= x000FFFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xF8110000 Max= x1000FFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xFFF80000 Max= xFFFBFFFF
Basic resources: Logical Configuration 0
Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x00000000 Max= x0009FFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x000E4000 Max= x000FFFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xF8110000 Max= x1000FFFF
Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xFFF80000 Max= xFFFBFFFF
Driver: System\0005
Driver Date: 4-23-1999
________________________________________





PCI Multimedia Audio Device
Unknown
This Device Has a Problem: Code=28 (0x1C)
The drivers for this device are not installed correctly. To install the driver
for this device, click the Driver tab, and then click Update Driver.
Alloc resources: Logical Configuration 0
IO Range: Base=x1000 End=x103F Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00

_____________________________________________






for the 2nd problem, i could never find the driver for the audio device and it remained there..


i am using win98se, GenuineIntel Pentium(r) II Processor
384MB RAM.

This is my HiJackThis log:
_____________________________________________

Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.1
Scan saved at 2:31:24 PM, on 9/19/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
G:\LITESTEP\LITESTEP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\FREERAMXP PRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
E:\FEN DOCUMENTS\DOWNLOADS\UTILITIES\2XEXPLORER\2XEXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
G:\MYIE2_08350\MYIE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\POWERZIP.TMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
F0 - system.ini: Shell=G:\SHELLON\SHELLON.EXE
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\JCCATCH.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BBE59AF5-EE22-4A3A-AB26-3F774D1B4216} - C:\PROGRA~1\FOLDER~1\FOLDER~1.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A09790E7-DD00-4A83-B632-5B563423CFBB} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SMARTPOPUPKILLER\POPUPKILLERIEDLL.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\FGIEBAR.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [3dfx Tools] rundll32.exe 3dfxCmn.dll,UpdateRegSettings
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PersFw] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\FREERAMXP PRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE" -win
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_link.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_all.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Ad Hunter - E:\FEN DOCUMENTS\MYIE2_BETA\config/blacklist.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: FlashGet (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Toggle Images (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Toggle Images (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: DuoPage (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: AddaButton (HKCU)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AddaButton (HKCU)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37878.0855208333
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {F04A8AE2-A59D-11D2-8792-00C04F8EF29D} (Hotmail Attachments Control) - http://lw11fd.law11.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx
O16 - DPF: {4CB62723-A14C-11D3-8D27-0060B0F1BE54} (LPBandOpenerObj Class) - http://www.linkgram.com/bandopener.cab
O16 - DPF: {6D2718A4-B974-11D3-8D33-0060B0F1BE54} (&DuoPage) - http://www.linkgram.com/dpsetup.cab

____________________________________________

Can someone kindly help? Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
Could all this be caused by your shell task switching program?
Shell=G:\SHELLON\SHELLON.EXE

That's the only thing I see in your HJT log that might cause any problems, the rest is fine.
 

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
but i have set it to exit after it switch the pc shell at startup..

i'll try to disable it and see how it goes.. Thanks ! :)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Regarding the "unknown" audio device, do you have any obvious sound issues? You can try removing the device and rebooting and see if it is still detected; or just put a check in the "disable in this hardware profile" box under its properties settings.

Are other identified sound adapters listed and "working properly"?

For the cpu usage, if it's not related to the shellmon configuration, or just to have another good troubleshooting utility in your arsenal, download Process Explorer, an excellent piece of freeware from System Internals. It will break down the cpu usage in to individual processes.

http://www.sysinternals.com/

I don't see a cpu cooler in your startups, but not being familiar with the bells an whistles of FreeRam (I personally think these programs do nothing better than what windows already does), maybe it is included --- cpu coolers cause the cpu usage to "appear" to be 100% due to the way they work. If your system is not absolutely slowed to a crawl, then you are not really consuming that amount of cpu usage.

Also if you are using sysmon to report this, there are some bugs that can cause it to falsely report 100 % :

http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...port/kb/articles/Q227/1/31.ASP&NoWebContent=1
 

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
Originally posted by Rollin' Rog:
Regarding the "unknown" audio device, do you have any obvious sound issues? You can try removing the device and rebooting and see if it is still detected; or just put a check in the "disable in this hardware profile" box under its properties settings.
i tried but i cant find the device..
but i disabled the device now..


Using Tuneup Utilities now and i realise that the cpu usage is not really that high all the time but it's fluctuating around 50% to 70% so i guess the freeram xp pro is erroneous in the cpu usage report...

downloaded the process explorer & using it... thanks ;)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
That's still a very high cpu usage unless you are running something really processor intensive. Generally at "idle" you should only be about 5%.

What processes are using so much cpu time?

You wouldn't be running with WinAmp's Advanced Visualization Studio running would you? That will certainly do it.
 

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
no, i dont use WinAmp's Advanced Visualization Studio.

in fact i seldom use winamp at all.

below is a pic of a list of the apps that i would run inevitably and their ram usage:

http://www31.brinkster.com/loserrealm/process.html

for efx, it's a windows skinning program but i only run it when i feel like and it uses little ram..

as for the tuneup process manager, i only run it when i need to

:)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It's not the ram usuage that is at issue here, but the % cpu time used by each process. You want to look at them with Process Explorer to see that.

I suspect Freeram, if that's what you are looking at it with, may be mis reporting or adding to the problem.
 

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
Ok, i'll try to disable freeram to see how things goes.

As for process explorer, may I know what is the "System Idle Process"? I checked the website and the help contents but found nothing on it.

And Thanks again for the reply!
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
System Idle Process is the percent of cpu time NOT being used -- meaning it is in an "idle" state. This should be high. If cpu usage (total) is 10 % then System Idle Process should be about 90 %
 

ambstrako

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
14
I see.. From the Process Explorer, the system idle process is always around 90-95 for my pc, so that means only around 10% is
being used..so both tuneup & freeram shows erroneous values..


Hey Rollin' Rog, thanks for being so patient with me and answering my questions! :)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Yes that's what you would normally expect to see unless you are running something rather demanding. I've found Process Explorer to be very reliable, so I have no doubt it is returning the correct percentages. You're certainly welcome for the assist.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top