1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

forever 100% CPU usage

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ambstrako, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi my cpu usage is forever at 100% usage. I read some threads on this but still it does not help my problem. I found some errors on my system:

    ____________________________________________

    System board extension for PnP BIOS
    System
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=15 (0xF)
    This device is causing a resource conflict. To resolve the conflict, use the
    Hardware Conflict Troubleshooter in Help.
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\BIOS\*PNP0C01\02
    Alloc resources: None
    Forced resources: None
    Boot resources: Logical Configuration 0
    Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x0009FFFF
    Base= x000E4000 End= x000FFFFF
    Base= xF8110000 End= x1000FFFF
    Base= xFFF80000 End= xFFFBFFFF
    Filtered resources: Logical Configuration 0
    Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x00000000 Max= x0009FFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x000E4000 Max= x000FFFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xF8110000 Max= x1000FFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xFFF80000 Max= xFFFBFFFF
    Basic resources: Logical Configuration 0
    Memory Address Range: Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x00000000 Max= x0009FFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= x000E4000 Max= x000FFFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xF8110000 Max= x1000FFFF
    Base= x00000000 End= x00000000 Min= xFFF80000 Max= xFFFBFFFF
    Driver: System\0005
    Driver Date: 4-23-1999
    ________________________________________





    PCI Multimedia Audio Device
    Unknown
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=28 (0x1C)
    The drivers for this device are not installed correctly. To install the driver
    for this device, click the Driver tab, and then click Update Driver.
    Alloc resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IO Range: Base=x1000 End=x103F Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00

    _____________________________________________






    for the 2nd problem, i could never find the driver for the audio device and it remained there..


    i am using win98se, GenuineIntel Pentium(r) II Processor
    384MB RAM.

    This is my HiJackThis log:
    _____________________________________________

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.1
    Scan saved at 2:31:24 PM, on 9/19/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
    G:\LITESTEP\LITESTEP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\FREERAMXP PRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    E:\FEN DOCUMENTS\DOWNLOADS\UTILITIES\2XEXPLORER\2XEXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    G:\MYIE2_08350\MYIE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\POWERZIP.TMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    F0 - system.ini: Shell=G:\SHELLON\SHELLON.EXE
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\JCCATCH.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BBE59AF5-EE22-4A3A-AB26-3F774D1B4216} - C:\PROGRA~1\FOLDER~1\FOLDER~1.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A09790E7-DD00-4A83-B632-5B563423CFBB} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SMARTPOPUPKILLER\POPUPKILLERIEDLL.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\FGIEBAR.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [3dfx Tools] rundll32.exe 3dfxCmn.dll,UpdateRegSettings
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PersFw] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\FREERAMXP PRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE" -win
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_link.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_all.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Ad Hunter - E:\FEN DOCUMENTS\MYIE2_BETA\config/blacklist.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: FlashGet (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Toggle Images (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Toggle Images (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: DuoPage (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AddaButton (HKCU)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AddaButton (HKCU)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37878.0855208333
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F04A8AE2-A59D-11D2-8792-00C04F8EF29D} (Hotmail Attachments Control) - http://lw11fd.law11.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {4CB62723-A14C-11D3-8D27-0060B0F1BE54} (LPBandOpenerObj Class) - http://www.linkgram.com/bandopener.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6D2718A4-B974-11D3-8D33-0060B0F1BE54} (&DuoPage) - http://www.linkgram.com/dpsetup.cab

    ____________________________________________

    Can someone kindly help? Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Could all this be caused by your shell task switching program?
    Shell=G:\SHELLON\SHELLON.EXE

    That's the only thing I see in your HJT log that might cause any problems, the rest is fine.
     
  3. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    but i have set it to exit after it switch the pc shell at startup..

    i'll try to disable it and see how it goes.. Thanks ! :)
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Regarding the "unknown" audio device, do you have any obvious sound issues? You can try removing the device and rebooting and see if it is still detected; or just put a check in the "disable in this hardware profile" box under its properties settings.

    Are other identified sound adapters listed and "working properly"?

    For the cpu usage, if it's not related to the shellmon configuration, or just to have another good troubleshooting utility in your arsenal, download Process Explorer, an excellent piece of freeware from System Internals. It will break down the cpu usage in to individual processes.

    http://www.sysinternals.com/

    I don't see a cpu cooler in your startups, but not being familiar with the bells an whistles of FreeRam (I personally think these programs do nothing better than what windows already does), maybe it is included --- cpu coolers cause the cpu usage to "appear" to be 100% due to the way they work. If your system is not absolutely slowed to a crawl, then you are not really consuming that amount of cpu usage.

    Also if you are using sysmon to report this, there are some bugs that can cause it to falsely report 100 % :

    http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...port/kb/articles/Q227/1/31.ASP&NoWebContent=1
     
  5. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    i tried but i cant find the device..
    but i disabled the device now..


    Using Tuneup Utilities now and i realise that the cpu usage is not really that high all the time but it's fluctuating around 50% to 70% so i guess the freeram xp pro is erroneous in the cpu usage report...

    downloaded the process explorer & using it... thanks ;)
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    That's still a very high cpu usage unless you are running something really processor intensive. Generally at "idle" you should only be about 5%.

    What processes are using so much cpu time?

    You wouldn't be running with WinAmp's Advanced Visualization Studio running would you? That will certainly do it.
     
  7. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    no, i dont use WinAmp's Advanced Visualization Studio.

    in fact i seldom use winamp at all.

    below is a pic of a list of the apps that i would run inevitably and their ram usage:

    http://www31.brinkster.com/loserrealm/process.html

    for efx, it's a windows skinning program but i only run it when i feel like and it uses little ram..

    as for the tuneup process manager, i only run it when i need to

    :)
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It's not the ram usuage that is at issue here, but the % cpu time used by each process. You want to look at them with Process Explorer to see that.

    I suspect Freeram, if that's what you are looking at it with, may be mis reporting or adding to the problem.
     
  9. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Ok, i'll try to disable freeram to see how things goes.

    As for process explorer, may I know what is the "System Idle Process"? I checked the website and the help contents but found nothing on it.

    And Thanks again for the reply!
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    System Idle Process is the percent of cpu time NOT being used -- meaning it is in an "idle" state. This should be high. If cpu usage (total) is 10 % then System Idle Process should be about 90 %
     
  11. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I see.. From the Process Explorer, the system idle process is always around 90-95 for my pc, so that means only around 10% is
    being used..so both tuneup & freeram shows erroneous values..


    Hey Rollin' Rog, thanks for being so patient with me and answering my questions! :)
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Yes that's what you would normally expect to see unless you are running something rather demanding. I've found Process Explorer to be very reliable, so I have no doubt it is returning the correct percentages. You're certainly welcome for the assist.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165869

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice