format reinstall 98se gone down the tubes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mtlewphd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
57
formatted tried to reinstall win98se said there was already an operating sys recommend that i exit and run setup through cdrom did that setup stopped and goed alot went into my computer i now have 2 floppie and 2 harddrive but only one if i try to go into the extra its not available or something like that. harddrive is not partioned or anything. how do i go about demolishing those extra drives so they are not listed like before i started and is there a chance my original win98se disk went bad?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi, can you explain that a little better? You have Windows installed now or no?
 

mtlewphd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
57
i reformatted when i went to install win98se it said that there was already an operating sysytem on there to exit setup and then run set up from the cd rom well its on there now. but now i have 2 floppies and 2 hard drives listed in my computer when there is only 1 of each if try to open the extras it says it is not accesable how do i completly wipe the 2 extras out and completely get rid of 98 and everything on the computer
 

mtlewphd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
57
ok out of complete aggravation shut it off and let it alone for about 15 min now i go into my computer the drives are the way they should be will it stay that way now?
 

mtlewphd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
57
i guess i need to know now is why didnt it wipe everthing out when i formated and if my disk went bad or something
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I'm not sure that you did a format, as it wouldn't have cried about finding a previous operating system. I guess you'll need to tell us what steps you took to make you believe that you did a format?
 

mtlewphd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
57
ok redid the whole format process again this time didnt get the 2 extra drives nor the message about having another operating system. everything is going ok but heres a question seperate from the format this what is the msvbm60.dll file i was installing games on it for friend and it says that file was not found
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top