Format Terminated

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

p51

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
926
Hi guys!

I am trying to format a hard drive, and ran into an error that I have never seen before. I was hoping someone could help me out.

I did an fdisk, then proceeded with a format, like I have done many times. The format got to 3% then said Not Ready Format Terminated, and kicked me back to the dos prompt. I tried twice, with the same results. Any ideas? Is that a bad hard drive?

Thanks,

p51
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
You may want to try a different IDE cable and different power connection too. Maybe try hooking it up to the secondary IDE port to format the drive. Is the drive being detected correctly in the computers bios?

Other than that I would try a different hard drive, it sounds like it is bad.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I have to say, whenever I've seen a not-ready message from a hard disk, it's been a hardware issue. The HD is obviously the top suspect, but as mentioned, it could be the cable, P/S, or MB.
 

p51

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
926
I tried a different power from the power supply, and the problem was still there. A different ide cable made the problem worse. My guess is the current cable is ok, and I swapped it witha bad one. I am not positive though. I am currently trying to find a good machine with the same set up, that I can swap the hard drives, and see what happens.

Thanks for the help.
 

p51

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
926
I have the original hard drive in another pc and it is almost done formatting. I guess maybe there is a problem with the mb or power supply, possible. Would somewhere like PCPitstop be able to tell me that kind of info, if I can get this thing up and going and connected to the internet?
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
You might want to try the drive and the cable from the good machine in the bad computer. Did you try the hooking the drive up to the secondary IDE port to see if that made a difference?
 
Joined
May 15, 2001
Messages
95
;) Old sayings are "If it aint broke dont fix it" and "Dont look a gift horse in the mouth" and both apply here
 

p51

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
926
Lurker- no, I haven't tried hooking to the second ide port. I will try that too, and see what kind of luck I have. Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top