1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Formating harddrive from external case

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by n0nickrick, Mar 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. n0nickrick

n0nickrick Thread Starter

Hello;

I want to replace the old 40 gb harddrive in my desktop pc with a larger one. I am hoping there is a way I can format and partition a new PATA harddrive in my external harddrive case and set up the replacement hardrive with my original restore disk. Is this possible? I have windows xp pro operating system. My computer system is an HP DC5000. I know when I buy a new hardrive some formating is required to begin using it, but can all this be done via an external drive case? If so are there step by step instructions? Im a newbie but anxious to learn. Thanks for any help or advice. Oh I forgot to mention my computer only holds one hard drive.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

No. The drive needs to be in position. Windows will not install to an external, and it needs to be in the location where it will run to create the correct links and drive specifications.

You can "clone" the old drive to the new while the new is in the case and then put the new one in the machine before booting it.

If you are going to go back to factory settings, all you need to do is install the new drive and start the process with your restore disks (if the drive is one approved by the manufacturer as compatible--otherwise you may not be able to use the restore disks on a larger drive). That is one reason why a clone may be a better idea.

Formatting and partitioning are part of the recovery process and do not need to be done separately.

3. n0nickrick