Formatting C Drive With Windows Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sohaib420

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
4
Hello all,
I need to format my C drive, and I am currently running windows vista ultimate x32 bit. So right now, when my comp starts, I have a choice to run XP or Vista. I want to make it only vista, and be able to use both C and D drives for vista. My vista is on my D drive

Can someone please tell me a step by step guide on how to uninstall XP from Vista

Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
59
You have to start anew with a fresh install of Vista. From the Vista DVD you can format both C/D and then proceed with the install which will default to the C drive.
 

Sohaib420

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
4
but i have stuff on my vista right now,...i want to format the C drive using my vista on that i have on D drive
 

Sohaib420

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
4
i have tried going to manage in computer, but it gives me the error : "windows cannot format the system partition on this disk"
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
106
To do a clean install (wipe your HDD clean) if your copy of Vista is an "update" then you must install Vista twice; at the first install do not enter the product key, after the install is complete start a second install, this time enter9ing the key and you will be given the option of a clean install.. You could wipe the HDD with a third party program such as Maxtors "MaxBlast", depending on the brand of HDD.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You know the easiest way really is to install Vista clean on the C drive with D drive unplugged to avoid confusion. Make sure bios will then boot to c drive, plug both in and then copy and paste files over you need after plugging D back in. Then format D drive in Disk Management.
I mean there are ways using Acronis True Image and partitioning D drive to make image files and restore but really complicated to explain.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top