formatting C:

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

saskatoon

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
33
Formatted C: when I got to where it said"Completed" it had C:\>\ and flashed for me to add something. I typed in different words and it said"bad command or file name". Then I typed in Format and they accepted it but still wanted something else to be typed in so does anyone know what I am supposed to type in? I'm pretty desperate at this point, will sure appreciate help. [email protected] is where I can get mail temporarily.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
After it says completed, you should be able to restart and end up at a c: prompt. Does this happen?
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
You need a startup diskette to perform this action. Hope you are not trying to format C: from the C:\ prompt.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Actually, many people think that won't work. Just for fun, I tested it one day :eek:

It will work.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
saskatoon,

A lot depends on what you booted to the first time. If you booted to the C: drive and formatted it, likely there isn't going to be anything left and would explain why you got a bad command or filename error.

Usually after you format, you are prompted for Y to continue. The prompt for the volume label comes after the drive has been formatted.

If you didn't format the hard drive with the /s switch, then you can't reboot to the hard drive. You will need to use a floppy or bootable CD.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
You don't need to enter anything for the drive label. But I hope you have all your Video, Sound, and Modem ducks in order after you reinstall :p
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
At this point it seems a bit unlikely that wanting the volume label was part of any problem, especially since you start formatting a drive well before that information is requested.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top