Formatting HD question..

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ChfTx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2003
Messages
287
This may sound backwards..

I've had some troble installing WinXP Pro on my machine (another thread) and I want to give it up for now and re-install Win98se. How do I go about formatting the HD so I can re-install Win98. The Win98 boot disk I have doesn't seem to work. I get the message "Format not supported on drive C. Format terminated".
I notice the Winxp boot disk is too big for a floppy. What can I do?

Thanks!
 

ddo

Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
3
I assume that your XP hardrive is formatted in NTFS which cannot be recognize by Win98SE. You need to use the old DOS "fdisk" program to re-format your C drive. You need to have the "boot disk" for Win98 SE.
1 - Go to BIOS Setup and change boot order to A:
2 - Load Boot diskette and reboot the PC.
3 - Select:Start computer with(or without) CD-ROM support.
4 - at command prompt, type fdisk <enter>
5 - follow direction on screen. Remember to make your drive active.

Afteer fdisk re-partition your drive, you can pop the Win98SE CD back in and start reload Win98 SE

Good luck


ChfTx said:
This may sound backwards..

I've had some troble installing WinXP Pro on my machine (another thread) and I want to give it up for now and re-install Win98se. How do I go about formatting the HD so I can re-install Win98. The Win98 boot disk I have doesn't seem to work. I get the message "Format not supported on drive C. Format terminated".
I notice the Winxp boot disk is too big for a floppy. What can I do?

Thanks!
 

ChfTx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2003
Messages
287
I've tried to repartition the HD. Fdisk tells me I have to delete logical drives first but there are no logical drives set-up, only primary and extended. When I look for the logical drives, fdisk tells me there is none.
 

ddo

Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
3
In fdisk:

- Select 4 (Display Partition Information) to verify disk is indeed NTFS
- Then go back and select 3 (Delete partition or logical Dos Drive)
- Select 4 (Delete Non-DOS partition)
- Next select 1 to create Dos partition.



ChfTx said:
I've tried to repartition the HD. Fdisk tells me I have to delete logical drives first but there are no logical drives set-up, only primary and extended. When I look for the logical drives, fdisk tells me there is none.
 

ddo

Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
3
ddo said:
In fdisk:

- Select 4 (Display Partition Information) to verify disk is indeed NTFS
- Then go back and select 3 (Delete partition or logical Dos Drive)
- Select 4 (Delete Non-DOS partition)
- Next select 1 to create Dos partition.
How many physical hard drives do you have on your machine?
 

ChfTx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2003
Messages
287
I only have 1 physical HD on my machine.

I figured out what was wrong.

I had to delete the non-dos partition and re-format the partition as FAT 32. Then I was able to do what I wanted.

Thanks for your time!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top