1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

forwarding with linksys router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by a_low, Feb 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. a_low

a_low Thread Starter

I am new at this and any help would be much appreciated. I have three pc's connected and i am trying to forward ports and port triggering. I want to be able to connect to msn zone with both pc's and play online. I have all the ranging numbers however i have this site to go by http://freehost27.websamba.com/+NibblesNbits/files/portsets_no1.jpg and i am not sure what ip address to add to the pc's? Also do i enter these numbers twice with the two differnt ip address for both? My ip address is 192.168.1.100 and my other pc is same but .101 . Can someone help me out please!!! i am following the steps on this site to open ports. http://freehost27.websamba.com/+NibblesNbits/whydo.html Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

2. Rockn

Rockn

With the Linksys you shouldn't have to do anything at all to share a connection. If it has switch ports and you are getting the IP addresses you are you should be set. The only issue I can see is if your ISP only allows for one connection frm one MAC address from your router. The way around that is to use the MAC address cloning feature of the router. There might be some ports you need to open for certain games and you are correct in attempting to use port forwarding. The example is right there in the link you sent....just substitute the 192.168.0.20 with 192.168.0.101 or 102

3. a_low

a_low Thread Starter

On the port forwarding screen do i add all the numbers listed with the ip address .100 then add all the numbers in again with the ip address .101 for a total of 10 numbers listed? Thank you for the help

4. Rockn

Rockn