1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Found New Hardware" - It's not new

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Danquigny, Jan 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danquigny

    Danquigny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    I have a device plugged into a USB port and it fails occasionally. When it does, I have to unplug the cable and plug it back in. When I do, Windows keeps saying "Found New Hardware", and it suggests installing the software. I might have switched it with another USB device - I'm not sure. How can I tell it that the hardware is not new?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,517
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the description of that "device", and does it require installing a software driver package for it to work?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Danquigny

    Danquigny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    It's an "Alpha Desktop Recording Studio" that allows connecting my tape player to the computer for transferring the music to CDs. It does have a software installation CD. I suppose I can just reload the software, but wondered if there's a quick way of telling Windows that IT'S NOT NEW! The unit is working fine - I just have to hit Cancel every day when I turn the computer on.
     
  4. SJ2571

    SJ2571

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    There's an option to "never ask again" when the prompt comes up to install a driver for it. Do that.
     
  5. Danquigny

    Danquigny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    There isn't any such option. The only ones are "install software automatically" and "install from a list or specific location". The "clickable" options are Next and Cancel. So this time I hit Next, and it found the software that was loaded originally and re-installed it. So I guess that will fix the "new hardware" annoyance. Thanks for responding.
     
  6. SJ2571

    SJ2571

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry, I think you have to NOT let it find the driver for you, for that option will appear. Since the driver is already installed, don't insert any driver CD or link to any driver folder, and then click that option (and letting the existing driver be). Should do the trick. Does for me, anyway. :)
     
  7. Danquigny

    Danquigny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    I didn't load the CD. I chose "install automatically" and it did some searching, obviously found it, and installed it. Anyway, problem solved.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Found Hardware
  1. ZawMyoLatt
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    304
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086685

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice