1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Found New Hardware Wizard?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by joeAgain------, Aug 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Every time I boot up now I'm getting that popup.
    I haven't installed or uninstalled Any Hardware lately.

    When I tell it to look for the software to install it....it always tells me it can't find it.....and to put in the installation CD. (??)

    What the Heck is it "talking" about?
    How can I find out WHICH hardware specifically it is refering to??
    (to know WHICH CD to put in !!))
     
  2. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    Check Device Manager for the yellow icon with the exclamation mark.
     
  3. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Forgive me, but it's been a long day.

    I forgot how you get to the Device Manager.
    Could you please tell me?
     
  4. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    Right click "My Computer", select "Properties", click the "Hardware" tab, click the "Device Manager" button.
     
  5. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Please forgive me again, but I'm attaching a screenshot of what I get when I click on the HDD's Hardware tab.

    I see no Device Manager for my C drive(the one with my XP Pro OS on it.

    What should I do?
    (boy....do I feel computer ignrant !....ha!, sorry....I appreciate your help!)
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm.gif
      dm.gif
      File size:
      17.6 KB
      Views:
      46
  6. Huon

    Huon

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    You don't need to go anywhere near the HDD tabs or the C drive.
    Go to "My Computer", The Icon for this should be on your desktop, or it is available through the start menu.
    Right click it, select "Properties", click the "Hardware" tab, click the "Device Manager" button.
    One of the items listed will have an exclamation mark beside it.
     
  7. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Still no Device Manager "button" as mentioned!

    Please see screenshot of what pops up when I right click, My Computer, Properties.

    Where Is it,?
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm2.gif
      dm2.gif
      File size:
      12.9 KB
      Views:
      37
    • dm3.gif
      dm3.gif
      File size:
      14.9 KB
      Views:
      30
  8. Huon

    Huon

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    OK, Open "my computer", and choose the "View system Infomation" shortcut on the top left.
    Then press the Hardware tab, and click the "Device Manager" button.
     
  9. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    OK, There we go...I found it now, Thanks!

    But it still isn't telling me what device(see screenshot)...it just says 2 "Other Devices".
    Why can't Microsoft be more specific???

    How am I supposed to know, if the computer can't tell me what device(s)I'm dealing with??
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm4.gif
      dm4.gif
      File size:
      17 KB
      Views:
      46
  10. Huon

    Huon

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    That does make it more difficult.
    I am at a loss to guess as to what hardware item the computer now thinks it has, or what drivers from an existing item it has lost. The only course I can advise is to disable the item(s) and wait and see if anthing does not work correctly, or if something else happens.
     
  11. Huon

    Huon

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    BTW, you can disable the item by right clicking it, and choosing disable.
    That will stop the popup behaviour, but is not a proper solution. We really need to find out what it is that it wants, and I am fresh out of ideas for that. :(
     
  12. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Thanks Huon,
    Right, but if I had even a basic description of WHAT hardware it is, I'd know more about which installation CD to use.

    I hope Microsoft fixes this vague area on their next OS version.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  13. jhoegl

    jhoegl

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Well, you would have to go over the list of hardware you know you have and compare to what is in that list.

    Did you just recently install something?
     
  14. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    No jhoegl,
    The last thing was about a year and a half ago.
     
  15. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
    could it be a dial-up modem? have you got one in there.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Found Hardware Wizard
  1. ZawMyoLatt
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    258
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/491233

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice